Select Page

Four of Wisconsin’s top high school football coaches are proud alumni of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

And when they see each other Saturday, it won’t be for an alumni reunion.

The four coaches will face off in the second round of the Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association state high school playoffs Nov. 1 at J. J. Keller Field at the Oshkosh Sports Complex.

The coaches are:
• Steve Jorgensen ’85, Kimberly High School
• Chris Kujawa ’93, Oshkosh North High School
• Ken Levine ’90 and MS ’95, Oshkosh West High School
• Tom Taraska ’75, Hartland Arrowhead High School

Taraska’s Arrowhead team is the top-ranked team in the Associated Press’ Division 1 poll, and has appeared in eight of the last 15 WIAA State Division 1 Football Finals. Jorgensen’s Kimberly team is the defending Division 2 state champion.

The third round games may be held either Friday, Nov. 7 or Saturday, Nov. 8. Fourth round games are slated for Friday, Nov. 14 or Saturday, Nov. 15.

The University of Wisconsin-Madison will host the WIAA State Tournament at Camp Randall Stadium Nov. 20 at 4 p.m.

Read more in the Oshkosh Northwestern.

Related stories:
Taraska inducted into UW Oshkosh Titan Hall of Fame

Seniors lead North into playoffs

Prep football Wildcats’ defense limits Madison West

Jorgensen helps team keep things in perspective

Photo gallery: Kimberly High School versus Green Bay Southwest High School Oct. 28