Select Page

Small businesses from across the state were honored Oct. 23 for their recent successes overcoming adversity, achieving rapid financial gain and solid growth, implementing turnaround strategies and adapting to new market conditions.

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh College of Business, in partnership with Corporate Report Wisconsin and Associated Bank, hosted the fourth-annual Small Business Success awards dinner at Reeve Memorial Union. The 2008 winners are as follows:

  • Automation Components (Middleton) for innovation
  • Americollect (Mantiowoc) for solid growth
  • DN Pharmaceutical Logistics/F. Dohmen Co. (Menomonee Falls) for fast financial growth
  • The Employer Group (Verona) for innovation
  • MBP Company LLC (Duran) for solid growth
  • Prince Corporation (Marshfield) for solid growth
  • Paragon Lighting (Hudson) for solid growth
  • Schroeder Solution (New Berlin) for company turnaround

To read more about the winners, visit

Dick Leinenkugel, sate Secretary of the Department of Commerce, was the keynote speaker at the dinner. Bob O’Donnell, director of UW Oshkosh’s Small Business Development Center, and C. Burk Tower, interim dean of the College of Business, served as judges.

Past winners include Accu Tech Plastics Inc. (Eau Claire), ARI Network Services (Milwaukee), CulinArte’ (Green Bay), ImproMed Inc. (Oshkosh), Main Street Ingredients (La Crosse), Marshfield Furniture (Marshfield), Skyward (Stevens Point), Sonex Aircraft (Oshkosh), Modern Business Machines (Appleton), Trissential, (Milwaukee), Ellenbecker Investments (Milwaukee), Stone Creek Coffee Roasters (Milwaukee), Capital Brewery (Madison), Batteries Plus (Milwaukee), Hartland Label Printers (Appleton), Wisconsin Energy Conservation Company (Madison), McFarland State Bank, Strohm Ballweg (Madison), (Rhinelander), Commercial Communications (Hartland), Tri City Glass and Door (Appleton), Grant Regional Health Center (Lancaster), Val-Fab (Neenah), AutoComm (Appleton) and Mid Valley Industries (Kaukauna).

Kathy Fredrickson, advancement officer for the College of Business, submitted this story.