Select Page

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Foundation will unveil plans for its newest academic center and the pride.purpose.promise capital campaign that will support its construction during its third-annual Foundation Report to the Community Breakfast.

Additionally, the Foundation will present its second Collaboration in Action Leadership Award, which honors an individual or organization’s commitment to collaboration between higher education, business and community. Last year’s award was presented to J. J. Keller and Associates.

The event will take place 7-9 a.m. Sept. 16 in Room 227 of the Reeve Memorial Union Ballroom. The meeting is designed for area business and community leaders to gather and learn how the UW Oshkosh Foundation serves the community and region. In addition to the presentation of the award, Jim Vande Hei, a UW Oshkosh alumnus and founder of will speak at the event.

“Northeastern Wisconsin, one of the largest population centers in Wisconsin, continues to grow, and with that growth also comes an increased demand for educational programs and services,” said Chancellor Richard H. Wells. “UW Oshkosh, the region’s most comprehensive university and the state’s third largest, has grown to meet that demand while maintaining quality education. The campus, however, has not added a new academic center since the early 1970s and is significantly short of meeting minimum space requirements.”

“As Northeast Wisconsin’s largest four-year comprehensive university, UW Oshkosh is an integral component of New North, but it doesn’t act alone,” said John M. Wollner ’95 MBA, chairman for the Foundation’s Outreach Committee and Corporate Relations Director at Thrivent Financial for Lutherans in Appleton. “The Collaboration in Action Leadership Award gives the Foundation an opportunity to show its appreciation for those who have helped the University with its mission.”

Following the breakfast, the Foundation will unveil the completed Oshkosh Sports Complex. Tours of the facility will be available from 9:15-10 a.m., followed by the ribbon-cutting ceremony from 10-10:30 a.m. Additional tours will be available following the ceremony.