You are here: Home / Additional Information / For Parents / Communication





Effective communication is key:

  • Take the time to talk to your child about their personal challenges, fears and expectations.
  • Model communication skills that you want your child to learn. Give your child permission to discuss emotional subjects and to disagree.
  • Discuss any family history of medical or mental health problems. Become an active listener, be patient and avoid interrupting them. Allow your child to make their point.
  • Avoid lecturing and criticizing. Share your knowledge and information in a non-judgmental way.
  • Encourage your child to solve their own problems.
  • Recognize warning signs of depression, anxiety, sleep disorders and substance abuse.
  • If your child calls in crisis:



Self Help Guide

SH101 Orientation Issue

Parent Health 101


New Patient Forms

Free Sexual Health Care

Student Insurance

Up to Date

Health Advocates

No Show Policy


 Marketplace Insurance

Contact Us

Student Health Center
Radford Hall
Phone: (920) 424-2424 · Fax: (920) 424-1769


Holiday Hours:
Wed., Nov. 25: Open 9AM - 3PM
Thursday & Friday, Nov. 26 & 27: CLOSED

Mon.-Wed., Dec. 21-23: Open 9AM - 3PM
Thurs./Fri., Dec. 24/25: CLOSED
Mon.-Wed., Dec. 28-30: Open 9AM - 3PM
Thurs./Fri., Dec. 31/Jan. 1: CLOSED

Mon., Jan. 18: CLOSED
Mon.-Thurs., Jan. 25-28: Open 9AM - 3PM
Fri., Jan. 29: CLOSED

CLOSED: all day Tuesday, May 17

FALL & SPRING (14-week terms)
Monday 8 a.m.–6:30 p.m.
Tuesday 10 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Wednesday 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Thursday 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
Friday 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m

Interims (3 weeks)
Mon., Wed., Thurs., Fri. 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tuesdays: 10-4:30 p.m.

Summer 2016
Monday - Thursday  9 a.m. - 3 p.m.


lgbtqlogo-homepage-1.jpg dohlogo-homepage-2.png aaahclogo-homepage-3.png 

The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh — Where Excellence and Opportunity Meet.