Research opportunities allow faculty and academic staff to grow professionally. Such opportunities, in turn, benefit UW Oshkosh students by improving the quality of their academic experiences and by providing opportunities for faculty-student collaborative research.


Key initiatives for the Office of Grants and Faculty Development during 2011-12 include:

  • Help UW Oshkosh faculty and staff locate, propose, submit and administer extramural funding.┬áThe two largest grants received in 2011-12 were:
    • Nancy Harrison, $385,635, U.S. Department of Education (sponsor), Student Support Services Program
    • Michael Lizotte, $500,000, U.S. Department of Energy (sponsor), UW Oshkosh Anaerobic Dry Digestion Facility
  • Increase the number of Oshkosh Scholar submissions. A record-breaking 34 scholarly papers were submitted to the UW Oshkosh undergraduate research journal.
  • Increase faculty scholarship recognition. We published the inaugural issue of Endeavors magazine and held the first annual University Scholarship Recognition Luncheon.
  • Strengthen our undergraduate research program. We sent a team to the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) workshop to learn more about institutionalizing undergraduate research at UW Oshkosh. Also, the Undergraduate Research Task Force formed the UW Oshkosh Student Scholarly and Creative Activities Program (OSSCAP).
  • Increase our compliance activities. We added a full-time academic staff position, which has allowed us to increase our oversight in the following areas of research compliance as mandated by federal regulations: animal care and use program, human research protections program, laboratory safety, and financial conflicts of interest in federal research. Post-approval monitoring activities of research projects were implemented as well as increased training with the use of the Collaborative Institutional Training Initiative (CITI) program. The animal care and use program was evaluated by AAALAC International and maintained full accreditation.
  • Conduct a Faculty Development Fund external review. We began this process.

Here are some examples of faculty-student collaboration. The first two items listed were not sponsored by the Office of Grants and Faculty Development, although Dr. Stephen Kercher has been involved with our office because he is a proponent of collaborative undergraduate research.

  • On Oct. 6, 2012, two students (one former student, the other graduating this year) and Dr. Kercher (History) shared receipt of an award from the Wisconsin Historical Society for a Neenah Historical Society (NHS) exhibit. As the consultant to NHS, Dr. Kercher helped develop the exhibit … and he always had the involvement of UWO students in mind. Learn more about this faculty-student collaboration.
  • Dr. Kercher also has been working with two other history students on the development of the Iraq War in Retrospect symposium.
  • A record-breaking 34 scholarly papers were submitted to Oshkosh Scholar, the UW Oshkosh undergraduate research journal. Dr. Michelle Kuhl (History and Oshkosh Scholar faculty adviser) and Susan Surendonk (Oshkosh Scholar managing editor) met with all 34 student authors and their faculty advisers to fine-tune their submissions. The journal is truly a collaborative undertaking as student authors work with both their faculty advisers and the Oshkosh Scholar editorial team (Dr. Kuhl, Susan Surendonk, and student editors Amy Knoll and Arielle Smith) to produce polished scholarly research.
  • Students who present at the annual UW System Symposium for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity event have collaborated with their faculty advisers. The event was held at UW Parkside on April 27, 2012. The following UW Oshkosh students presented
    • Steven Bartel (faculty adviser Nadia Kaltcheva, Physics and Astronomy)
    • Kevin Moran (Nadia Kaltcheva)
    • Jaime Castillo and Holly Ozanich (Teri Shors, Biology/Microbiology)
    • Jefferson Lich (Stephanie May de Montigny, Anthropology)
    • Kristine Knox (Sabrina Mueller-Spitz, Biology/Microbiology)
    • Jessica De Larwelle (Erin Winterrowd, Psychology)
    • Kayla Kasten (Erin Winterrowd, Psychology)
    • Matthew Knollenberg (Samuel David, Chemistry)
    • Mitchell Matheny (Nadia Kaltcheva, Physics and Astronomy)
    • Kyle Moerchen (Susan Rensing, History)
    • Eric Anderson (Jeff Lipschutz, Art)
    • Paige Anunson (Jennifer Schuttlefield, Chemistry)
    • Alexander Turinske and Scott Nelson (Nenad Stojilovic, Physics)
  • The UW Oshkosh Student/Faculty Collaborative Research program annually awards stipends with supplies/expenses allowances to both undergraduate and graduate students who are collaborating with faculty advisers. The following students and their faculty advisers were recipients of the 2012-2013 Student/Faculty Collaborative Research awards:Graduate Student/Faculty Collaborative Research Awards ($3,000 Stipend & $500 Supplies/Expenses)
    • Ashley Winker (Gregory Adler and Michelle Michalski, Biology and Microbiology), Blood Parasites in Two Species of Tropical Rats;
    • Andrew Sabai (Robert Pillsbury, Biology and Microbiology), Cattail Invasion of Native Wetland Communities in Winnebago System Wetlands: Analysis and Modeling;
    • Bradley Spanbauer (Stephanie Spehar, Anthropology), Seed Protection from Beetle Larvae Infestation Through Dispersal by the African Savannah Elephant (Loxodonta Africana Africana);
    • Justin Zangl (Toivo Kallas, Biology and Microbiology), Protease Inactivation for Isolation of a Functional Cytochrome b6f Electron Transfer Complex from the Cyanobacterium Synechococcus PCC 7002.

    Pat J. Koll Graduate Student/Faculty Collaborative Research Award ($3,000 Stipend & $500 Supplies/ Expenses)

    • Heather Flick (Susan McFadden, Psychology), End of Life Planning by Low Income, Community-Dwelling Elders.

    Undergraduate Student/Faculty Collaborative Research Awards ($2,500 Stipend & $500 Supplies/Expenses)

    • Ryan Bures (Dana Merriman, Biology and Microbiology), Is Reactive Gliosis After Optic Nerve Crush Muted in the 13-lined Ground Squirrel Retina?;
    • Jacqueline Charapata (Marguerite Parks, Educational Leadership), Establishing Critical Thinking and Multicultural Education in Rural Wisconsin Elementary Schools;
    • Brandi Deptula (Eric Matson, Biology and Microbiology), Diversity and Function of Bacteria Related to the Newly Isolated Organism JT5, a Possible Lignocellulose-degrading Species from the Gut of an Evolutionarily Higher Termite;
    • Collin Dischler (Joseph Peterson, Geology), 3D Modeling of Battle Injuries in Dinosaurs;
    • Alyssa McCumber (Robert Stelzer, Biology and Microbiology), Are Nitrate Concentration and Dissolved Oxygen Correlated in Stream Sediments?;
    • Martin Meder (Marianne Johnson, Economics), The Efficacy of Aquatic Invasive Species Funding;
    • Beth Molnar (Roberta Maguire, English), Beyond Redemption: Flannery O’Connor’s Search for Divinity in the South;
    • Sitha Thor (Teri Shors, Thomas Lammers and Neil Harriman, Biology and Microbiology), Screening Hmong Herbs/Plants for Antiviral Properties;
    • Erica Vander Mause (James Paulson, Chemistry), Is Histone H3 Phosphorylation Required for Chromosome Condensation?;
    • Samantha Wallschlaeger (Doug Heil, Communication, Radio-TV-Film), Long Shot: A Screenplay.