Liberal Education Reform Team

In summer 2009, a working group consisting of five LERT members planned an approach to mapping the current curriculum at UW Oshkosh against the Essential Learning Outcomes (ELO) The ELO’s were defined by the group and three levels of student capability were defined (Beginning, Developing, and Proficient) to be applied to each learning outcome. The group also developed a method to capture this data.

Summer 2010 Work

The same group from summer 2009 is working to prepare for LERT activities in the 2010-2011 school year. The group is beginning work on a proposal for new University Minimum General Education Requirements that will help students achieve the Learning Outcome achievement levels preferred by the faculty (from the May 2010 survey). The group will develop an approach to discussing this proposal with the faculty in fall 2010. The goal is to have new General Education Requirements passed by the Faculty Senate by spring 2011. The group also plans to develop an approach to assessment of the new General Education Program to be discussed with faculty in the 2010-2011 school year.


2009-2010 Accomplishments

LERT In fall 2009, the definitions and levels were further refined with the full LERT Team. A system for capturing the data was developed in conjunction with Academic Computing. The system was completed and made available through Titan Web in November 2009. A users’ guide was developed, and the LERT Chair met with every department/college on campus to demonstrate the system and request participation. From November 2009 through May 2010, departments participated in the mapping exercise. By the end of the spring semester, data from nearly 1,200 courses across the University was entered into the system. In April 2010, LERT, in conjunction with Academic Computing, began developing prototype reports for the analysis of the mapping data. In May 2010, LERT surveyed the faculty to get their opinion on the appropriate level of student achievement (Beginning, Developing, Proficient) for each learning outcome upon graduation. In May 2010, Professor Mike Eierman was re-elected as chair of the committee.