Personal tools
You are here: Home > Undergraduate Program > Awards & Scholarships


View all current available scholarships through UW Oshkosh Academic Works

Want to find out what you can do to lower Wisconsin tuition? Find out at One Wisconsin Now, a non profit for higher education and lower debt!

Carl A. Scott Book Scholarship - Application opens Summer 2016

The Carl A. Scott Memorial Fund was established by the Council on Social Work Education's (CSWE) Board of Directors in recognition of Carl A. Scott’s contributions to CSWE and the social work profession.

The Carl A. Scott Memorial Fund was developed to continue the legacy of equity and social justice in social work through building knowledge and furthering the well being of individuals and their communities. These were the goals to which Scott devoted his life's work.

At the time of the award (fall 2016) student must be in the last year of study for a social work degree in a bachelors or master’s degree program accredited by CSWE.

SeniorAdvice Caregiver and Volunteer Scholarships- Due July 15, 2016

  • Must attend a two or four year university or college in the Fall of 2016
  • Involvement in volunteering for senior living community during the past year (2015-2016)

Wisconsin Nursing Home Social Workers Association Continuing Education Scholarship- Due June 30, 2016

The WNHSWA was founded in 1978 by a group of concerned Social Workers from throughout the state. At the time of the formation of the group the primary concerns were that there was an organization which would facilitate quality Social Work services being provided to the long term care residents in Nursing Homes; provide input in governmental decisions regarding Nursing Home Social Services, and provide input as to the educational and experience qualifications for those serving as Social Workers in Nursing Homes.

This $1000 award is open to BSW and MSW students, or someone already in the field who wishes to take additional classes.

Behavioral Health Academic Scholarship- Due May 31, 2016

  • Applicants must write an essay (800 words max.) - Why are you interested in pursuing a career in behavioral sciences?
  • Applicants must be entering or enrolled in behavioral health, nursing, counseling, psychology, social work, marriage/family therapy, or other program focusing on treating mental health and/or substance abuse issues.

AAC's Behavioral Health & Addiction Scholarship- Due May 31, 2016

  • Open to full or part-time undergraduate or college graduate students
  • Must be entering or enrolled in behavioral health, nursing, counseling, psychology, social work, marriage/family therapy, or other program focusing on treating mental health and/or substance abuse issues

College Scholarships for Women- varies on scholarship

  • See website for details



Excellence Award

History: The Excellence Award is an annual scholarship honoring the academic achievement and demonstrated commitment to social work service by social work students. This award is given toward tuition for the student's next academic year. The amount varies year to year.

Contact:  Colleen Hansen, MSW, 920.424.7170


  • Continuing Social Work majors who have attained junior standing (Students currently in the SW 300 level courses, in good standing)
  • Students may self nominate by forwarding their name and a brief written rationale detailing the basis for their nomination to Colleen Hansen by February 26, 2016. Academic achievement, excellence and originality in class performance and significant community/university service are considered.
  • Faculty members may nominate candidates who they believe have established a record of high academic achievement including consideration of cumulative GPA, demonstrated originality and excellence in class performance and other factors encompassing academic excellence. Additional criteria will include a record of significant community service and/or work with the Student Social Work Association. Faculty nominations should be forwarded to Colleen Hansen by February 26 along with a brief written rationale detailing the basis for your recommendation.

Any questions contact award chair Colleen Hansen at or (920) 424-7179.

Lois Miranda Advocacy Award

History: The Lois Miranda Advocacy Award is named after the retired (now deceased) Social Work Faculty member at UW Oshkosh. She was tireless in her dedication and advocacy of marginalized populations. In her memory, students who model her advocacy work, will be awarded. To honor her, a fund was begun and a plaque created to share awardees names each year. This plaque hangs in the Social Work Office.

Award: The award amount varies year to year.

Eligibility criteria:

  • Graduating seniors who are in good standing in their programs.
  • Students must be nominated by others (no self nominations) forwarding the name and a brief rationale detailing the contribution in advocacy the student has made, to Colleen Hansen by February 26.
  • Significant contribution in advocacy for marginalized population(s) by a student or a group of students.

Nominations can be made by faculty, staff, community members or other students and submitted by February 26. Please include the name of student, major, and provide in detail , the specific work to marginalized populations which the student(s) have been involved with.

This award will include recognition on a perpetual plaque, a certificate and monetary award for the awardee.

by Clark, Leslie A. last modified May 13, 2016 10:04 AM