Personal tools
You are here: Home

Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance (WiRSA)

WiRSA Logo

Farmers Union Convention Presentation

State Education Convention Presentation

2015-17 Legislative Session 



2014-15 WiRSA Scholarship Program


The Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance will again be offering scholarships to graduating seniors in our member school districts.  This year we will be offering five $500 scholarships: one scholarship in each of the four regions of the state and one scholarship at-large.  These scholarships are made possible by designating a portion of the membership dues of our Associate Members for this purpose.
Our current Associate Members include:

  • ACT Midwest Region, Lincolnshire, IL
  • Adams-Columbia Electric
  • Compass Learning
  • Ehlers
  • Hammelman Resources, LLC
  • HSR Architects, Engineers & Interior Designers
  • M3 Insurance
  • Meemic Insurance Co. & Foundation
  • National Insurance Services
  • Northern Tier Uniserve
  • Don Stevens & Assoc., Inc. (Supt. Search)
  • WEA Trust Member Benefits
  • WI Dept. of Energy Services
  • WI Technical College District Boards Assoc.

To access application information, click on 2014-15 WiRSA Scholarship Guidelines & Application.



6th Annual Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance Fall Conference
November 12-13, 2014

"Preparing Rural Students for Their Future"

Brochure Pic

Click on the "2014 Annual Conference" link on the left side of the home page to access presentations from this year's conference.


Congratulations to the 2014 WiRSA Award Winners:

F Yeo
Dr. Fred Yeo, UW Oshkosh--Rural Advocacy Award

S Ricks
Steven Ricks, Lodi Community Action Team--Rural Community Partner of the Year

J Simonich
Joseph Simonich, Hurley, Rural Board of Education Member of the Year

R Bergman
Randy Bergman, Superintendent, Prentice--Rural Administrator of the Year

S Foster
Scott Foster, Elem Principal, Northland Pines--Rural Administrator of the Year

C Cegielski
Craig Cegielski, Eleva-Strum--Rural Teacher of the Year

P Kumm
Pam Kumm, Secretary, Pittsville--Rural Support Staff Member of the Year

WiRSA Membership Map


              For a larger view of this map, please use the link in the "About WiRSA" section of this page.

    About WiRSA:

    The Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance (WiRSA) strives to meet the unique needs of rural schools throughout the state. As such, our site is designed to be a central source for news, events and pertinent resources related to the issues faced by rural educators.

    WiRSA Board of Directors

     Supported by the Wisconsin Cooperative Education Services Agency (CESA) districts, the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, the UW System and rural school districts, our aim is to continually enhance and improve rural school education.

    The newly-elected WiRSA Board of Directors began their terms of office at the first board meeting of the year on January 14, 2015.  Officers for 2015 are:

    President - Bob Houts, Owen-Withee

    Past President - Leah Luke, Mauston

    President-Elect - Jeremy Biehl, CESA #5

    Secretary - Mellow Jorgensen, Darlington

    Treasurer - Jerry Walters, CESA #11 


    Document Actions
    Voices in Rural Education

    Rural Wisconsin

    Wisconsin's rural residents talk about their memories, perspectives on life in rural Wisconsin today, and their hopes for the future.

    Listen now ...

    A partnership between Portal Wisconsin and the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters