UW Oshkosh
menu
Future Students adult non-traditional Parents and Family Current Students Faculty and Staff Visitors and Community

Liberal Education Reform Team header

Links

Home

Supporting documents

Team Resources

Subcommittee Resources

TeamResource Group Team Charge

College Learning for the New Global Century (PDF)

The main report from the American Association of Colleges and Universities which is defines the AAC&U's LEAP initiative (Liberal Education and America's Promise), describes the background causes, gives the definitions of the basic concepts behind this initiative and introduces the essential learning outcomes.

report cover

Liberal Education Reform Team:

Team Captains Position Phone email
John Koker Dean College of Letters & Science 1058 koker@uwosh.edu
Susan Nuerenberg Professor of English and Chancellor's Leadership Fellow 0424 nuernber@uwosh.edu
Barbara Rau Associate Professor of Management and Human Resources 7197 rau@uwosh.edu
Faculty Senate Position Phone email
Michael Rutz Assistant Professor of History 7178 rutz@uwosh.edu
Linda Eroh Associate Professor of Mathematics 7343 eroh@uwosh.edu
Susan Nuernberg Professor ofEnglish and Chancellor's Leadership Fellow 0424 nuernber@uwosh.edu
Roberta Maguire Associate Professor of English 7286 maguire@uwosh.edu
Jim Koch Associate Professor/Chair of Psychology 2303 kochj@uwosh.edu
Charlie Gibson Professor/Chair of Chemistry 1400 gibson@uwosh.edu
Deans and Provost Position Phone email
Franca Barricelli Associate Professor/Chair of History 7159 barricel@uwosh.edu
Roy Hoglund Professor/Coordinator of Theatre 7043 hoglund@uwosh.edu
Alice Kyburg Associate Professor of Philosophy 7310 kyburg@uwosh.edu
Mike Eierman Professor/Team Leader of Management Information Systems 0183 eierman@uwosh.edu
Joshua Garrison Assistant Professor of Educational Foundations 0346 garrisoj@uwosh.edu
Suzanne Marnocha Associate Professor/Undergr. Program Director, College of Nursing 1028 marnocha@uwosh.edu
Senate of Academic Staff Position Phone email
Lisa Danielson Registrar 3007 danielsn@uwosh.edu
Lynn Freeman Director of Academic Advising 2457 freemanl@uwosh.edu
Breck Speers Instructional Academic Staff, English 7284 speers@uwosh.edu
Oshkosh Student Assn. Position Phone email
Thomas Wolf OSA Vice President

279-5330

wolft77@uwosh.edu
Brandon Strand Past OSA Vice President 920-923-1984 stranb81@uwosh.edu
Abby Schultz President for University Speakers Series and an Odyssey Captain 1864 schula22@uwosh.edu
Academic Affairs Position Phone email
Nick Dvoracek Director of Media Services 7363 dvoracek@uwosh.edu
Administrative Services Position Phone email
Lori Worm Administrative Services 3033 worm@uwosh.edu
Student Affairs Position Phone email
Rick Hilman Associate Director, Admissions 0310 hillman@uwosh.edu
Classified Staff Advisory Council Position Phone email
Diane Kromm Academic Department Associate, Chemistry 1400 krommd@uwosh.edu
Jane Kramer COLS Graduation Examiner, Registrar's Office 0372 kramer@uwosh.edu
return to top

Liberal Education Resource Group

Colleges   Phone email
Merlaine Angwall COLS - Associate Professor of Theatre 7050 angwall@uwosh.edu
Todd Borgerding COLS - Associate Professor of Music 7028 borgerdi@uwosh.edu
Karen Bowen COLS -Academic Staff L&S Deans Office 0928 bowen@uwosh.edu
Catherine M. Bryan COLS - Associate Professor ofForeign Languages and Literatures 0910 bryan@uwosh.edu
Nancy Burnett COB - Associate Professor of Economics 1471 burnett@uwosh.edu
Kim Dedee COB - Associate Professor of Business 7199 dedee@uwosh.edu
Kathy Faggiani COLS - Assistant Professor of Comput r Science 2069 faggianik@uwosh.edu
JIm Feldman COLS - Assistant Professor of History& Environmental Studies 3235 feldmanj@uwosh.edu
Ralph Gunderson COB - Professor of Economics and Team Leader 7151 gundrson@uwosh.edu
Jonathan Gutow COLS - Associate Professor of Chemistry 1326 gutow@uwosh.edu
David Jones COLS - Professor of Public Affairs 2492 jonesd@uwosh.edu
Karen King COLS - Associate Professor ofPublic Affairs 7306 kingk@uwosh.edu
Todd Kostman COLS - Assistant Professor of Biology and Microbiology 7301 kostman@uwosh.edu
Karl Lowenstein COLS - Assistant Professor of History 2462 loewenst@uwosh.edu
Margaret Manzi COEHS - Professor, Reading 3190 manzim@uwosh.edu
Art Pontynen COLS - Professor of Art 7067 pontynen@uwosh.edu
Christine Roth COLS - Assistant Professor of English 7287 roth@uwosh.edu
Kathleen Lynch COLS Instructional Academic Staff, Computer Science 1085 lynchk@uwosh.edu
Student Affairs   Phone email
Bryan Bain Academic Advising 3262 bain@uwosh.edu
Marie Stapel Admissions 0864 stapel@uwosh.edu
Deadre Holmes Counseling Center 2061 holmesd@uwosh.edu
Rebecca Spurlock Academic Advising 3141 spurlock@uwosh.edu
Administrative Services   Phone email
LInda Freed Grants & Faculty Development 3215 freed@uwosh.edu
Academic Affairs   Phone email
Joe Franklin Institutional Research 2195 franklin@uwosh.edu
Mike Watson Institutional Research 2184 watson@uwosh.edu
Pat Wilkinson Polk Library 2147 wilkinso@uwosh.edu
Students   Phone email
Katharine Chase. Graduation Project Outreach Specialist, Adult Nontraditional Student Resource (ANSR) Office 4474 chasek@uwosh.edu
Harrison Fegley Student in Environlnental Studies and Geography 262-251-2350 fegleh20@uwosh.edu

LERT Charge Memo (Word) Ten-page memo of May 25, 2007 by Chancellor Wells and Provost Earns to members of the University-wide Liberal Education Reform Team detailing the Team Charge. The charge memo recommends adoption of a framework, including Guiding Principles and Learning Outcomes, similar to that put forward by the National Leadership council of LEAP in the College Learning for the New Global Century report. The charge memo also includes a summary of the Higher Learning Commission’s concerns regarding our General Education program.