You are here: Home / Documentation / How To's / How to make a Poi issue tracker require login

How to make a Poi issue tracker require login

by kimadmin — published Oct 21, 2009 11:50 AM, last modified Aug 16, 2016 10:50 AM
Poi 1.2b1 has a workflow that lets anyone view or submit issues. Here's how to make it require login to view or submit issues.

How To Create New Poi Trackers That Are Private

It was pretty simple. 

In the ZMI:

  1. In portal_types, I cloned (via copy & paste) the PoiTracker content type, called the new one PoiPrivateTracker, gave it a title and description that indicated it is private/requires login.
  2. In portal_workflows, Contents tab: I cloned (via copy & paste) the workflow called poi_tracker_workflow to poi_PRIVATE_tracker_workflow, gave the new workflow a title and description that indicated it requires login for everything.  
  3. Clicked on the States tab, then adjusted the new workflow's permissions for states "open" and "closed" so that anonymous users cannot see or do anything (unchecked all the boxes under the Anonymous column).
  4. Back in the default tab of portal_workflows, I assigned the new workflow to the new content type.

This makes it possible for you to create new Poi trackers that are private, but it does not help you change an existing Poi tracker to make it private.

Note however that these new private trackers will not appear at all for anonymous users!  People who want to access a private tracker will have to know the URL, or you'll have to put a publicly visible link somewhere on your site that points to the private tracker.

How to Make An Existing Poi Tracker Private

To make all your site's existing Poi trackers require login, you could upgrade to the current version of Poi, which I believe has this ability built in.

Assuming you don't want to upgrade Poi versions, here's how you do it:

In the ZMI:

  1. In portal_workflows, Contents tab: click on the workflow called poi_tracker_workflow. 
  2. Click on the States tab, adjust the permissions for states "open" and "closed" so that anonymous users cannot see or do anything (unchecked all the boxes under the Anonymous column). 
  3. Back in the default tab of portal_workflows, at the bottom of the page click the "Update security settings" button.  This will apply your workflow security changes throughout your site.

REMEMBER: this change will affect all your site's Poi trackers!  And, as mentioned above, no anonymous users will see these trackers unless you explicitly create publicly visible links to them somewhere on your site.

 

Navigation