Personal tools
You are here: Home > Alumni > Awards and Honors

Awards and Recognition

Each year, the Alumni Association at UW Oshkosh honors graduates by awarding them one of two alumni awards at homecoming. Several journalism graduates have received  the awards, which honors their professional careers and their civic involvement.

  • The Distinguished Alumni Award – The highest award that alumni can receive from the association. It is awarded to individuals who are active in their professional fields and are widely recognized for their career accomplishments.
  • The Outstanding Young Alumni Award – Awarded to alumni who have graduated within the last 15 years. Selection is based on professional and civic accomplishments and future promise.


2014 Alumni Award winners

Anne Enright '97, director of media and measurement for Starbucks, is one of this year's Distinguished Alumni Award winners.

2013 Alumni Award winners

Shane Arman '10 and Kate Briquelet '08 are honored with the Outstanding Young Alumni Award and Jeff Griffith '87 received the Distinguished Alumni Award at the 2013 UW Oshkosh Alumni Awards Dinner. Please watch the linked video for words from two of our three 2013 Alumni Award winners (Arman and Griffith).

2012 Alumni Award winners

Rebekah Peppler '08, food editor of "Tasting Table", turns her passion for food and writing into a tasty career.  Read more about Rebekah here.

Vanessa Verbitsky '08, associate communications manager with the U. S. Olympic Committee, has turned her love of sports and writing into a winning career.  Click here for more information on Vanessa.

2011 Alumni Award winners

The 2011 alumni award winners discuss their careers at the Department of Journalism reunion.



Honorary Doctorate recipients

One of our graduates, Jim Vande Hei, was awarded an honorary doctorate after being nominated by Mike Cowling, chair of the Department of Journalism.

Watch a YouTube video about Vande Hei's honorary doctorate and view the May 2011 graduation ceremony, where Vahde Hei received his honorary doctorate.

Journalism Distinguished Alumni

2014: Anne (Angoli) Enright, 1997

2013: Jeff Griffith, 1987

2011: Patrick Stiegman, 1988

2010: Alan Hobson, 1982

2005: Scott Hassett, 1974

2002: Paul Anger, 1972


Journalism Outstanding Young Alumni

2013: Shane Arman, 2010

2013: Kate Briquelet, 2008

2012: Rebekah Peppler, 2008

2012: Vanessa Verbitsky, 2008

2011: Michael Fredrick, 1997

2011: Lori Kraus, 2002

2010: John Feld, 2000

2009: Brad Zibung, 1999

2008: Theresa (Crogan) Krajnak, 1995

2007: Laura (Denissen) Scherr, 1999

2006: Melissa Ewey Johnson, 1995

2004: Jeffery Fitzgerald, 1996

2003: Anne Angoli, 1997

2002: Jeff Maki and Chuck Monn, 1996

2001: James VandeHei, 1995

1998: Patrick Stiegman, 1988

1996: Kerry Brown and Scott Fitzgerald, 1985

1995: Hugh J. McAloon, 1983

1994: Mary Elizabeth Mulloy, 1988

1993: Connie Walker, 1983

1992: Alan Hobson, 1982

1990: Peggy Pihlaja Banach, 1989

1989: Jeffrey R. Griffith, 1987

1985: Patricia A. Wier Lewis, 1975

1983: Linda Lord-Jenkins, 1974

by burgk32 — last modified Jul 15, 2015 12:20 PM