Personal tools
You are here: Home > About Us

About Us

Established in 1968, the UW Oshkosh Department of Journalism is an accredited program recognized by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (ACEJMC).

We have a strong commitment to the principles on the advancement of literacy, freedom of expression and journalism education. We also acknowledge a professional emphasis on journalism and mass media. Students are encouraged to acquire practical experience through internships and professional institutions.


The Department of Journalism offers offers two majors: Journalism with emphases in advertising, writing/editing, visual and media studies and a Public Relations major. Education on new communication technology and journalism diversity has been integrated into different courses across the emphases.

  • In the writing/editing emphasis, students are prepared to take entry-level positions on daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and online sites.
  • In the advertising and public relations emphases, students are prepared to take entry-level positions with media, agencies and related organizations.
  • The visual journalism emphasis enables students to learn both press and commercial photographic skills, multimedia production, and web production before entering into the entry-level positions in the visual industry.
  • The media studies emphasis prepares students to pursue advanced journalism degrees.


The Department of Journalism offers the Professional Journalism Internship as a three-credit elective class. Students also participate in collegiate competitions both in and outside of classes, including the National Students Advertising Competition, Public Relations Bateman Competition and Hearst Journalism Awards to earn practical experience.

Ten scholarships are offered to students in different emphases through the department, while also encouraging students to apply for scholarships offered by private institutions.

The department recognizes outstanding students by offering them membership in Kappa Tau Alpha, the journalism honor society.

Some journalism students choose business administration, art, English, political science and other humanities and social sciences as their minors. Students must maintain a 2.5 minimum overall GPA pre-requisite to enroll in most journalism classes. A minor is not required, so some students double-major or double-emphasis in journalism.


Faculty, Staff and Research Activities:

The faculty background and expertise consist of a good balance between professionals and scholars. Most of the full-time faculty have doctoral degrees, while others have masters degrees in journalism and business administration with extensive experience in the industry prior to the employment. Many of the professors holding doctoral degrees also have professional experience.


Equipment and Facilities:

The department is located on the third floor of Sage Hall and has three computer-laboratory classrooms equipped with 45 Macintosh computers used exclusively for journalism classes.

In addition, the department has a multimedia production room, state of the art photo studio, reading room, general office, conference room, workroom for student assistants and nine offices for its faculty, all located near each other.

Journalism Department Multimedia Equipment

The department offers multimedia equipment for loan to students, faculty and staff. With the exception of studio equipment, equipment may be loaned out by instructors in accordance with the department's loan procedure. Click here for more information.



We view our alumni as a source of strength. Since the first graduates in 1969, over 2,000 students have successfully completed the program and have assumed positions of leadership in their respective areas of journalism, advertising and public relations.

Thirty-one graduates have been recognized as outstanding and distinguished alumni by the university alumni office.

A number of the graduates remain in the Fox Valley, many of them are scattered around Wisconsin, neighboring states and metropolitan areas including Milwaukee, Chicago, Minneapolis, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco and Washington, D.C.

by burgk32 — last modified Aug 04, 2015 02:14 PM