Personal tools


The Department of Journalism at UW Oshkosh is an accredited program by the national Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications. The department has more than 300 journalism majors and minors, and offers two majors: Journalism with emphases in advertising, writing/editing, visual and media studies and a Public Relations major.

Journalism moved into the new academic building, Sage Hall, in the summer of 2011. The department has three fully-equipped computer labs, which have a maximum of 15 students per lab, and a new digital photo lab. In addition to emphasis-specific skills, students learn how to use new and emerging media and Web page production to prepare them for today’s digital media workplace.

Students also meet with journalism faculty to register for classes each semester. The faculty members discuss the students’ career plans and offer advice on which courses to take.


Latest News

Fall 2015 Internship Newsletter now online
Click to download the Fall 2015 Professional Journalism Internship newsletter, and learn how to build your personal brand, keep your confidence up when you're not getting a job, and much more.

Advertising creative and outstanding young alumnus, Rene Delgado, presents to students

Rene Delgado (Journalism '05), associate creative director at Leo Burnett, was our guest on Oct. 16, presenting "A conversation on advertising, originality and the Super Bowl." He is a creative mind behind many popular ads.

UPDATED -- Retention and Graduation Data

Click here to be directed to Retention and Graduation Data for the Department of Journalism.

2015 Journalism Annual Report

To catch up on what the Department of Journalism has been up to, please take some time to read the annual report.

2005 journalism grad named one of 2015 Outstanding Young Alumni

Rene Delgado '05, Chicago, is one of four UW Oshkosh graduates who will receive the university's Outstanding Young Alumni award during Homecoming 2015. The award recognizes graduates for their achievements in their careers and communities, as well as the potential they hold for future success.

Delgado earned his bachelor’s degree in journalism with emphases in advertising and public relations in 2005 and currently works for Leo Burnett Worldwide as an associate creative director. He was part of Esurance’s campaign, “Sorta You Isn’t You,” which aired during the Super Bowl and featured celebrities Lindsay Lohan and Bryan Cranston. Delgado also has done campaigns for Sealy and McDonald’s and won the Bronze Cannes Lion, an award presented to top creating advertising teams throughout the world.

Journalism alumnae join UW Oshkosh Alumni Board

The UW Oshkosh Alumni Association's Board of Directors elected four new members and re-elected five members to serve three-year terms, beginning in fall 2015. Three of the members are journalism alums: Amanda Betts-Regina was elected president, while Rayna Andrews joined the board and Ann Duginske, a journalism minor, remains on the board.

Journalism minor is commencement speaker

Justine Braun was the keynote speaker for the Spring 2015 commencement at UW Oshkosh. See what she learned and read her speech here.

Students work with nonprofits on new media strategies

Students in Sara Steffes-Hansen's New and Emerging Media class in Spring 2015 worked with nonprofits to develop best practices  and more. Learn what they accomplished here.

Now available — Spring Internship Newsletter

Click to download a copy of the Spring 2015 internship newsletter, INTERNally Creative, and find out how a positive attitude can result in a positive result, how to take a bad interview and turn it into a good experience, and much more.

Dr. Julie Henderson awarded PRSA's Outstanding Educator Award

The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) announced that Julie Henderson, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA will receive the Outstanding Educator Award during the PRSA 2014 International Conference Monday Networking Luncheon on Oct. 13 in Washington, D.C. To read more about this honor, please click here.

Journalism graduate named 2014 UW Oshkosh Distinguished Alumna

Anne Enright, ’96 of Seattle, Wash. doesn’t just love the Starbucks brand, she lives it. Enright’s innovation and leadership in the media and marketing industry have made her one of this year’s UW Oshkosh Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award winners. Read more about her accomplishments here.

Journalism Students Net 4th Place in NSAC Competition

Pictured below are Dr. Sara Steffes Hansen (bottom row, far right) and Taylor Krentz, '13 (bottom row, far left) and the 14 students from Journalism 424: Strategic Campaigns in Advertising. This class competed in the National Student Advertising Competition (NSAC) in Minneapolis this spring, creating a campaign for their client, Mary Kay cosmetics. UW Oshkosh was among ten schools from Minnesota, South Dakota and North Dakota. The team took fourth in District 8, the only team in Wisconsin to compete in this year's competition. Read more here.

J424 Students (2013)


View this video showcasing our program:


Advanced Reporting students create website on Winnebago County court system

Students in the spring 2014 Advanced Reporting class at UW Oshkosh are reporting on the operations of the Winnebago County Circuit Court 10 years after the county's district attorney pleaded guilty to corruption charges. Students are reporting on the faces behind the law, criminal justice, campus and courts, civil proceedings and more. Check out their coverage here.

UWO journalism education key to success of Discover Wisconsin co-host

While many Wisconsinites yearn to escape the Badger State during the winter months, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh alumna and Discover Wisconsin co-host Mariah Haberman ’10, of Madison, embraces every season of the year. Read the entire story at

Journalism Students are Finalists in Photographer's Forum 34th Annual College Photography Contest

Below, you will find a collage of works from our Journalism students featured on Photographer's Forum website as finalists for their annual college photography contest.

Photographer's Forum 34th Annual College Photo Contest, Sp '14

Photos by: (top row) Rachel Christianson; Kari Ausloos; Holly Ivansek; (middle row) Mark Ebert; Kaytlyn Dehling; (bottom row) Callie Hoyt

PRSSA Lands Two National Awards at Philadelphia Conference

The University of Wisconsin chapter of PRSSA picked up two national awards at the 2013 National Conference in Philadelphia Oct. 28.

Hilary Stoeberl, president of the organization, said that it was thrilling to see the group’s hard work from the semester pay off.

“I was over the moon thrilled when they announced our chapter's name,” Stoeberl said. “Seeing everyone from our chapter light up was definitely a major highlight of this year's conference."

The chapter was the only one to receive two awards. One was an honorable mention for the NODAC campaign (National Organ Donor Awareness Campaign competition) conducted last April and the other was the Teahan Award for Chapter Development.

“They are pretty difficult to win,” Stoeberl said. “So receiving two, especially as a small chapter, was very exciting.”

Overall 12 Teahans are handed out in different categories, but the Chapter Development is one of the most important awards and given to chapters with 20 members or less.

by joeladmin last modified Nov 21, 2015 01:00 PM