At UW Oshkosh, the "University logo" refers to the circular graphic device, accompanied by the University name.
A logo is a device intended to provide immediate recognition of a brand. A logo sometimes contains only a graphic icon, or it can use a combination of a graphic icon and an organization's name.
At UW Oshkosh, the "University logo" refers to the circular graphic device, accompanied by the University name or other text, as shown to the right.
The precursor of the current logo was designed in the winter of 1977-1978 for use on a flag for an expedition to Antarctica by geology professor Thomas Laudon. Within the circle, the logo originally depicted a "moon's eye view of the earth" to suggest UW Oshkosh's worldwide impact.
Other images in the center of the logo were tried early in 1978, including a silhouette from the Oviatt House tower. Oviatt House's rich history as the oldest building on campus (built in 1882-1883) lent this version of the logo a historic and collegiate appeal. Chancellor Edward M. Penson (1978-1989) soon gave it formal approval and stipulated that it become the official logo to be used on all University communications.