Personal tools
You are here: Home > About > Staff

The University Honors Program Staff

Laurence Carlin new headshotLaurence Carlin, Ph.D.


Dr. Laurence Carlin has been a faculty member in the Department of Philosophy at UW Oshkosh since 2000. He has served as Chair of the Philosophy Department since 2011 and as Director of the University Honors Program since 2012.

Dr. Carlin earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from Franklin and Marshall College, a Master of Arts degree from the University of Houston, and a PhD from Rice University. Dr. Carlin specializes in seventeenth- and eighteenth-century philosophy and science and is the author of a book and many scholarly articles. He received a number of awards for his research, including grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and a Fellowship at the UW Institute for Research in the Humanities. Since 2003, Dr. Carlin has been leading study abroad programs to the United Kingdom. In 2009 he won the University Honors Program's Outstanding Teaching Award, and he is also a recipient of the Edward M. Penson Distinguished Teaching Award.  When he is not working, Dr. Carlin enjoys coaching his kids’ sports teams, working on house projects, volunteering in the community, and hiking during Wisconsin’s beautiful summers.


Julie Russo

Assistant Director


Debbie Gray Patton

Associate Advisor

Debbie is originally from Iowa, where she received bachelor's degrees in political science and journalism and a master's in counseling from the University of Iowa. She's been at UWO since 1995 and previously held positions in Residence Life and the Dean of Students office. She's passionate about working on a college campus and helping students meet their goals. In her free time, Debbie follows her kids' sports and music events, runs, and loves to read.

by Linn, Molly M last modified Jun 26, 2014 01:08 PM