Personal tools
You are here: Home > News & Deadlines > Quality Matters Professional Development

Quality Matters Professional Development

QM understands how important professional development is to your faculty and staff. We also realize it can be difficult to schedule. The popularity of QM Live! Summer Camp indicates a continuing need for convenient, focused professional development. Quality Matters would like to provide those opportunities by introducing QM Live! Winter Institute. Winter Institute sessions will make it easier for your faculty and staff to participate in professional development while still enjoying the winter break following fall term.

What is QM Winter Institute?
For just two hours a day, faculty and staff can participate in 4 highly interactive and engaging sessions that provide strategies they can apply right away to their classes for the upcoming term. They can participate from any location they are able to access the Internet with their laptops- from their office, favorite ski resort, snowbound at home, maybe even by the pool in a sunny getaway location! QM Live! Winter Institute workshops take only 2 hours per day allowing everyone plenty of time to relax over the break.

QM Live! Winter Institute web conferencing workshops focus on specific review standards of the Quality Matters Rubric. From each workshop session, participants will take away valuable tools and strategies for designing new courses or improving existing ones, reducing repetitive questions and providing students with a high quality learning environment. Two sessions of the QM Live! Winter Institute are scheduled, each with a different focus:

QM Live! Winter Institute Session I: Design That Welcomes ALL StudentsDecember 16 through 19, 2013
Are your courses ready for ALL of your students? Students are most successful when they have clear instructions for getting started, know what to expect, and when the course materials are accessible.

QM Live! Winter Institute Session II: A Closer Look at AlignmentJanuary 6 through 9, 2014
Ensure your course design is solid. Each workshop explores a different aspect of alignment - objectives, assessment, activities, and instructional materials. Whether you teach online, blended, or on-site and face-to-face, these workshops will help you improve your course alignment.

When?
QM Live! Winter Institute meets just 2 hours a day in Collaborate from December 16 through 19th and/OR January 6 through 9th.

3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. AST
2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. EST
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. CST
12:00 noon to 2:00 p.m. MST
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. PST
10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon. AKST
9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. HAST
9:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
2:00 a.m. to 4:00 a.m. Singapore

Fees
Subscribers can attend a Winter Institute session for just $250, a $50 savings! Non-subscribers pay $450, also saving $50 off regular registration rates. Pre-pay or receive an invoice when the session closes. Your choice!

Questions?
Contact Nancy Ragias, QM Registrar for Higher Education: Nancy.Ragias@qualitymatters.org or 410-497-8043
Register now! Space is limited to 20 participants.

Document Actions
by Reeves, Kira-Lynn last modified Dec 02, 2013 09:52 AM