You are here: Home / Audience Navigation / Faculty or Staff Member / Distinguished Culminating Experience Master's Awards

Distinguished Culminating Experience Master's Awards

The 2018 UWO Distinguished Master's Culminating Experience Awards will accept nominations until 11:59pm on March 31, 2018.  

Nomination Procedures

A faculty advisor or graduate program coordinator must put forth the nomination. The selection process within the program is each program's responsibility.
  1. Each program may nominate up to two students for each masters award; the Master's Thesis Option and Master's Project Option. If nominations for more than two students are received for each award, only the first two will be accepted.
  2. The nominee must have been awarded (or will be awarded) a master's degree from UW Oshkosh for summer 2016, fall 2016, spring 2017, summer 2017, fall 2017, or spring 2018. 
  3. Complete nominations include the following items submitted to the Office of Graduate Studies email address ( by March 31, 2018
    1. Distinguished Culminating Experience Master's Award Nomination Form
    2. Abstract of the nominated project, not to exceed 300 words, that contains the title of the project and name of the author.
    3. Letter of support from the students culminating experience advisor describing the quality of the report and/or impact of this work on the field.
    4. One-page resume of the student's professional background.
    5. A statement of learning based on the culminating experience project supplied by the student.
    6. A complete copy of the final, approved project.

Selection Process

Nominations will be accepted until March 31, 2018. A subcommittee of the Graduate Council will review all nominations, and will forward their recommendations to the Director of Graduate Services.

Midwest Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS)

Award recipients of the Master's Thesis Option may also be considered to represent UW Oshkosh at the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) Distinguished Thesis competition. Two of four broad categories will alternate each year. For 2019, MAGS will accept Distinguished Thesis nominations in the Social Sciences and Mathematics, and Physical Sciences and Engineering. The categories for the 2020 MAGS competition will be Biological and Life Sciences, and Humanities.