Personal tools
You are here: Home > About > Foundation Honor Roll > New Funds

New Funds

We are proud to announce the establishment of the following new funds and awards, which provide scholarship support, recognition of student achievements and enhanced departmental resources. Our appreciation is extended to the many donors who enrich students’ educational experiences and advance the University’s standing.

Contribute online or mail your gift to:

UW Oshkosh Foundation
842 Algoma Blvd.
Oshkosh WI 54901


New Foundation Funds in 2012

Accounting Faculty Scholarship was established by accounting professor Joann Noe Cross. It is awarded to students who have attained high levels of academic performance in accounting classes and who have demonstrated a commitment to active involvement in service to the profession and their communities.

Center for Professional Selling Fund supports marketing and supply chain management activities, including travel, supplies, software, expenses associated with in-class activities, reading materials and creation and distribution of information to students about marketing and sales careers.

Carl Chapman Scholarship supports a talented vocal arts or choral music student with demonstrated financial need. The fund was established to honor Dr. Carl Chapman, chair of the music department and choral director, upon his retirement from UW Oshkosh after 31 years of service.

Community Arts Collaboration Fund provides resources for faculty, staff and students to collaborate with local and regional arts organizations to enhance the student learning experience and increase the presence of fine arts in our local and regional communities.

Gender Diversity in Computer Science Scholarship supports the education of exceptional women and transgender computer science students. The award was created by Eric Schultz ’11 to help address the gender gap in computer science: In 2010 and 2011, less than 12 percent of computer science degrees nationwide went to women, a significant decrease from a high of 37 percent in 1984. With salaries in technology-related fields exceeding national averages, fewer female and transgender computer science students means an increase in gender-based income inequality.

Geography Faculty Scholarship was established by geography professor John A. Cross. Recipients are chosen by geography department faculty from among the top students with a geography major. Selection is determined by grade-point average in the major and rigor and breadth of classes taken overall.

Human Services and Educational Leadership Fund supports general scholarships for the human services department within the College of Education and Human Services.

Eileen Hanselman Kuhlers Music Scholarship was established by Kuhlers BME ’63 to provide financial assistance to college students pursuing a music degree. As a high school music teacher, she often worked with students who showed promise and potential to pursue music studies at the collegiate lsevel, but economic or other circumstances prevented them from attending college. This scholarship is intended to assist a student during his or her four-year college career, provided the recipient remains a music major in good academic standing.

Professional Counseling Fund provides support for professional counseling scholarships and general funds for professional counseling department activities.

Andy Robson Earth Charter Award is given to a student who has engaged in sustained activism that embodies the principles of the Earth Charter: respect and care for the community of life, ecological integrity, social and economic justice, democracy and peace. The award is named in honor of Professor Andy Robson, whose efforts were central to UW Oshkosh becoming a national leader in supporting the Earth Charter.

Special Education Department Technology Fund enables the department to acquire new technology that is required to stay competitive in the industry.

Sports Medicine Fund will support the needs of sports medicine staff members, including conferences for professional development. This professional staff is responsible for the healthcare and safety of more than 600 student-athletes participating in 22 Division III sports in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

UW Credit Union Scholarship Endowment was established in recognition of the UW Credit Union’s strong partnership with UW Oshkosh and its focus on providing access to higher education. The scholarship is awarded to full-time undergraduate students with financial need.

UWO Historical Perspectives Project Fund will support projects that give students the opportunity to learn the process of researching and producing a community historical exhibit. Examples of this type of multifaceted historical exhibit include the Black Thursday Oral History Project and the Iraq War Retrospective initiative.

UWO Hockey Club Fund supports the needs of the team, which participates at the Division II level in the Central Region of the American Collegiate Hockey Association.

Lina Vergara Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Lina Vergara, born in 1991 in Bogota, Columbia. She graduated from Middleton High School in 2010 and was pursuing a teaching degree from UW Oshkosh when a river rafting accident took her life on July 7, 2012. This scholarship was created to help other students who share Lina’s desire to teach and her willingness to help others, especially those newly adapting to campus life or struggling emotionally with the challenges that students face in college. The scholarship will be awarded to full-time elementary education students with a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.0. Applicants must demonstrate involvement in extracurricular, service or volunteer programs as a high school or college student.

Martin and Annette Viessmann Endowed Chair in Sustainable Technology will lead a three-way integration among the current academic programs of the College of Letters and Science, the Renewable Energy Institute and the new UW Oshkosh engineering technology and renewable energy endeavors, as well as maintain and forge new international projects including symposiums, exchange programs, collaborative research and curriculum development. The University’s first endowed chair is made possible through a generous gift from Viessmann Group CEO Martin Viessmann and his wife, Annette, of Allendorf, Germany.

Writing Center Fund will create opportunities for intellectual leadership, collaborative learning and personal growth by enhancing and supporting the operations of the UW Oshkosh Writing Center.

by Clark, Leslie A. last modified Feb 25, 2013 08:33 AM

Contact the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh Foundation
842 Algoma Blvd. Oshkosh, WI 54901-3551 • Email:
Phone: (920) 424-2178 • Fax: (920) 424-7116