The 2010 FILM & HISTORY Conference

In partnership with the Literature/Film Association (LFA)
   Areas and Contact Information   

          Register for Conference         

New! Final Deadline for All Areas: September 15, 2010
(Check back often -- Areas updated daily)

Active Calls for Papers:

Across the Tracks: Love and Class in Film and History**

Chair: Robert Niemi
rniemi@smcvt.edu

Affairs of Race: Interracial Relationships in Film and History

Chair: Carole Martin
cm25@txstate.edu

Agape: Faith God Mission **

Chair: Zachary Ingle
ztingle@ku.edu

All in the Family: The Bonds of Family Affection in Television

Chair: Michael Kassel
mkassel@umflint.edu

America's Love Affair with Movie Gangsters

Chair: Beverly Kelley
kelley@callutheran.edu

L'Amour Noir: Fear and Danger in Romance, 1920-1960 **

Chair: Bill Mooney
william_mooney@fitnyc.edu

An American Bromance: Homosocial Love in Film and Television **

Chair: Kelli Marshall
kellirmarshall@gmail.com

Blaxploitation Films: What's Love Got to Do with It?

Chair: Norlisha Crawford
crawforn@uwosh.edu

The Bond Girls: Sex and the Secret Agent

Chair: Jim Yates
jyates@carlalbert.edu

Chicks in Love - "Chick Lit" into "Chick Flicks"**

Chair: Laura Beadling
beadlingl@uwplatt.edu

Cinephilia: The Love of Film

Chair: Adam Capitanio
capitani@msu.edu

Citizen Love: Flag Wavers, Flag Burners

Chair: Christopher Stone
christopher.stone@uwc.edu

Cowboy Love

Chair: Sue Matheson
smatheson@ucn.ca

Dangerous Transgressive and Unloved: The View from Way Outside

Chair: G. Tom Poe
poeg@umkc.edu

The Dark Side of Love: Love and Violence in Film and Video

Chair: Karen Ritzenhoff
Ritzenhoffk@CCSU.edu

Different Bodies: Disability, Disfigurement, Illness or Impairment & Love

Chair: Marja Mogk
mmogk@callutheran.edu

For the Love of the Fans: Fandom, Comics and Film Adaptations

Chair: Lance Eaton
lance_eaton@emerson.edu

Global Perspectives on the Alpha Male in Love

Chair: Eric Selinger
eselinge@depaul.edu

Hollywoods (m)Other(ly) Love: (post)Freudian Readings and Approaches

Chair: Jaime Bihlmeyer
jaimebihlmeyer@missouristate.edu

The Intrusion of Love

Chair: Antonio Savorelli
intrusion@cknweb.it

Jane Austen in Film and History **

Chair: Laurence Raw
l_rawjalaurence@yahoo.com

Jazz and Film: a Love Affair**

Chair: Peter Lev
plev@towson.edu

Jewish-Gentile Romances: From Abie to Zohan

Chair: Lawrence Baron
lbaron@mail.sdsu.edu

The Landscape of Love: Nature and the Environment in Film and Television

Chair: Deborah Carmichael
carmic28@msu.edu

Listening to the Music of Love in Film and Television

Chair: Mathew Bartkowiak
mathew.bartkowiak@uwc.edu

Love and Commitment in the Fraternity/Sorority Film

Chair: Thomas Britt
tbritt@gmu.edu

Love and Death

Chair: Massimo Perinelli
perinelli@gmx.ch

Love and the Family Man: Last Frontier for the American Hero?

Chair: Elizabeth Abele
abelee@ncc.edu

Love and Food

Chair: Deborah Adelman
adelman@cod.edu

Love and Sex in the Films and Graphic Novels of Alan Moore

Chair: Todd Comer
tcomer@defiance.edu

Love at the End of Life

Chair: Sara Rosenthal
msrose2@email.uky.edu

Love in a Time of War

Chair: Suzanne Broderick
slbrode@ilstu.edu

Love in the Golden Age of Television

Chair: Erwin Erhardt
erwin.erhardt@uc.edu

Love Marriage and a Baby Carriage: Bonding and Parenthood in Film and Television

Chair: Laura D'Amore
lmdamore@comcast.net

Love Thy Leader: Charisma, Attraction, and Love Toward Figures of Identification

Chair: Carsten Hennig
mail@carsten-hennig.com

Love and Violence: Action Heroes

Chair: Jennie Morton
mortonj@peacocks.uiu.edu

Lovers on the Side: Tramps and Rogues in Film and History**

Chair: Cynthia Miller
cymiller@tiac.net

Loving the Machine: Human-Machine Relationships in Film and Television

Chair: Lisa Nocks
lnocks@gmail.com

Lust In Space: Love in Science Fiction Film and Television

Chair: A. Bowdoin Van Riper
bvanriper@bellsouth.net

Medieval Love and Sexuality in Film and Television

Chair: Justin Noetzel
noetzelj@slu.edu

Oysters and Snails: Love & Sex in the Ancient World on Screen

Chair: Monica S. Cyrino
pandora@unm.edu

Performing Love/Loving Performance: Broadway Musical Motifs in Cinema and Television

Chair: Kathryn Edney
katedney@hotmail.com

Pro Patria Mori: Patriotism in Film and Televison

Chair: Lisa Stein
stein@ohio.edu

Queer Love

Chair: Pamela Demory
phdemory@ucdavis.edu

Reality-TV Love: Bachelors and Bachelorettes

Chair: Zivah Perel
zperel@qcc.cuny.edu

Sex and Love in Asian Contexts

Chair: Sybil Thornton
Sybil.Thornton@asu.edu

Shakespeare In (and Out of) Love **

Chair: Noel Sloboda
njs16@psu.edu

 

The "Special Effects" of Love

Chair: Michael Duffy
michael.s.duffy@googlemail.com

"Taking Care of Business": Office Romance in Film and Television

Chair: Tony Osborne
Osborne@gonzaga.edu

Teacher, Teach Me Love: The Student-Teacher Relationship in Film and Television **

Chair: Suzanne Diamond
sdiamond@ysu.edu

Things of Love and the Love of Things

Chair: Rebecca Burditt
rburditt@mail.rochester.edu

Vampire Love

Chair: Daniel Schnopp-Wyatt
daniel.schnopp-wyatt@lindseyspc.org

The Weight of History: Body Image and Love

Chair: Elizabeth Matelski
ematels@luc.edu

Women and Children First: Gender and Ethics

Chair: Caryn E. Neumann
neumance@muohio.edu

Writers in Love/Writers and Love/Writing and Love in Film and Television

Chair: Bruce Wyse
bwyse@wlu.ca

** LFA affiliated session

Additional Opportunities for Areas: