Reason and Religion in 18th Century Scotland

Edinburgh, Scotland

Interim/Summer 2012
May 17 - June 1

 

Tentative Itinerary

Thursday, May 17: Depart for Edinburgh
Friday, May 18: Arrival in Edinburgh: Professor Carlin's Fantastic Walking Tour of Edinburgh (Wear comfortable shoes!)

Saturday, May 19: Free Day!


WEEK ONE
Sunday, May 20: Class meets from 2:00 – 5:00 PM
Monday, May 21 – Wednesday, May 23
Class meets from 9:00 – 12:00 PM

Monday, May 21: Scotland's Works of Art
Afternoon: The Scottish National Gallery

Wednesday, May 23: The Historical Figures of Scotland
Afternoon: The Scottish National Portrait Gallery

Thursday, May 24: The History of Scotland: Edinburgh's Old Town
Morning: Museum of Edinburgh and Gladstone's Land
Afternoon: Edinburgh Castle


Friday, May 25: The History of Scotland: Edinburgh's New Town
Morning: National Museum of Scotland
Afternoon: The Georgian House and Arthur’s Seat


Saturday, May 26 – Sunday, May 27: Free Days

 

WEEK TWO
Monday, May 28 – Tuesday, May 29
Class meets from 9:00 – 12:00 PM

Monday, May 28
Afternoon: Palace of Holyroodhouse

Tuesday, May 29
Afternoon: The National Library of Scotland (private viewing of Hume's manuscripts!)


Wednesday, May 30:
Morning: Newhailes House
Afternoon: Study for Final Examination!


Thursday, May 31:
Morning: Final Examination
Afternoon: Mary King's Close

Friday, June 1: Depart for Wisconsin

 

Prof. Carlin's Web Page

UW Oshkosh Home Page

Last Updated: 3/23/12