Wisconsin Philosophical Association
Annual Meeting
April 10, 2010
University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Collins Classroom Center
Stevens Point, Wisconsin

9:00-9:55 a.m.        Registration
                                Coffee, Bagles, and Conversation
                                Collins Classroon Center 233

9:55-10:00 a.m.      Welcome
                                Laurence Carlin
                                University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                Executive Secretary, Wisconsin Philosophical Association
10:00 a.m.                Session I
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Room 233
                                 Alan Kellner, University of Chicago
                                 "Spinoza on Desire and Community"
                                 Chairperson: Cody Stingley, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 234
                                 Crystal Plahuta, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
                                 “Self-Creation in Nietsche's Determinism"
                                 Chairperson: Jacob Griesmer, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

11:00 a.m.                Session II
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Reeve 233
                                 Eric Kramer, University of Wisconsin-Lacrosse
                                 “Proper Functions and their Natural Designers”
                                 Chairperson: Dona Warren, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 234
                                 Bieu Tran, University of Connecticut
                                 “Morality and Sages: Mencius and Xunzi on Self-Discovery”
                                 Chairperson: Rachelle Fawcett, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

12:00 p.m.               Business Meeting
                                 Room 233

12:01–12:59 p.m.       Lunch
1:00 p.m.                  Session III
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Room 233
                                 Ching-E Nobel Ang, Marquette University
                                 “A Kantian Defense of Positive Liberty”
                                 Chairperson: David Gilboa, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 234
                                 John Lightfield, Ripon College
                                  “Don't Fear the Skeptic”
                                 Chairperson: David Capito, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

2:00 p.m.                  Session IV
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Room 233
                                 Molly Gardner, University of Wisconsin-Madison
                                  “Situationalism and Autonomy”
                                 Chairperson: Steven Mischler, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 234
                                 Malachi Cate, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
                                 “A Theocentric Environmental Ethic”
                                 Chairperson: Matthew Neumeier, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

3:00 p.m.                  Session V
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session,  Room 233
                                 Brynn Welch, University of Wisconsin-Madison
                                 “In Defense of Trumping Rules”                          
                                 Chairperson: Laurence Carlin, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 234
                                 Steven Mischler, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
                                 “Plato, the Other, and the Freedom to Love”
                                 Chairperson: Ryan C. Olds, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point

4:00 p.m.                  Adjournment
The WPA thanks the anonymous referees for this year's meeting. Their workload was considerable, and their service is greatly appreciated. The WPA also thanks the Department of Philosophy at UW-Stevens Point for hosting the meeting.
 WPA Home

UW Oshkosh Home

Last Updated: 3/18/10