Wisconsin Philosophical Association
Annual Meeting
April 18, 2009
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
Reeve Union
Oshkosh, Wisconsin

To see a map of the UW-Oshkosh campus, click here.

For directions to UW-Oshkosh, click here.

The conference will take place in Reeve Memorial Union, which is accessible from both Algoma Blvd. and Elmwood Ave. All-day parking is available in the High Avenue Parking Ramp located on the corner of High Avenue and Osceola Street. Parking is free on weekends. Reeve Union is a short walk from the High Avenue Parking Ramp. For questions, e-mail Larry Carlin.

9:15-9:55 a.m.        Registration
                                Coffee, Juice, Bagles, Muffins, and Conversation
                                Reeve Union 214

9:55-10:00 a.m.      Welcome
                                Laurence Carlin
                                University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                Executive Secretary, Wisconsin Philosophical Association
10:00 a.m.                Session I
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Room 214
                                 Matthew Tedesco, Beloit College
                                 "Harm, Consent, and Practical Joking"
                                 Chairperson: John Burr, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 215
                                 Megan Lann, Mount Mary College
                                 “The Second Sex: Not the Manifesto of Our Mothers'"
                                 Chairperson: Nicole Bernard, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

11:00 a.m.                Session II
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Reeve 214
                                 Trevor Smith, Marquette University
                                 “Shifting Focus with Wittgenstein's Private Language Argument”
                                 Chairperson: David Duquette, St. Norbert College
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 215
                                 Caleb Durward, Northland College
                                 “Death, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness: A Case Study on Necro-Ethics”
                                 Chairperson: Ashley Check, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

12:00 p.m.               Business Meeting
                                 Room 214

12:01–12:59 p.m.       Lunch
1:00 p.m.                  Session III
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Room 214
                                 Eric Kraemer, University of Wisconsin Lacrosse
                                 “Reduction, Emergence, and Explanation”
                                 Chairperson: David Gilboa, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 215
                                 Matthew Jeffers, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                  “Redemptive Justice as Punishment and Vindication”
                                 Chairperson:  Scott Forschler, Northland Community and Technical College

2:00 p.m.                  Session IV
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session, Room 214
                                 Matthew Kopec, University of Wisconsin Madison
                                  “A Disagreement Concerning Permissive Possibility”
                                 Chairperson: Ronald Glass, University of Wisconsin Lacrosse
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 215
                                 Ryan Devine, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                 “A Discussion of Russell, Wittgenstein, and Austin”
                                 Chairperson: Kevin Buskager, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

3:00 p.m.                  Session V
                                 Faculty/Graduate Student Session,  Room 214
                                 Tait Szabo, University of Wisconsin-Washington County
                                 “In Defense of Legalizing Blackmail”                          
                                 Chairperson: Henry Salomon, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
                                 Undergraduate Student Session, Room 215
                                 Alicia DeGroot, University of Wisconsin Stevens Point
                                 “Identifying Pseudoscience ”
                                 Chairperson: Melanie Werner, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh

4:00 p.m.                  Adjournment
The WPA thanks the anonymous referees for this year's meeting. Their workload was considerable, and their service is greatly appreciated. The WPA also thanks the Department of Philosophy at UW-Oshkosh for hosting the meeting and providing the continental breakfast.
 WPA Home

UW Oshkosh Home

Last Updated: 4/16/09