Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home > My Students

My Students

by Ledwell, Brian A last modified May 30, 2017 07:09 PM

Current Grad Students

  • Zach Tooley, BS UW La Crosse, MS expected Spring 2018.  Interested in retinal embryology. 
  • Amy Miller, MS Summer 2017.  Interested in reproductive endocrinology, behavior, captive populations. CONGRATS Amy on the new job at the Cincinnati Zoo!

Current Undergraduate Students

  • Travis Lundeen, BS expected December 2017. Co-supervised with Chemistry's Kevin Crawford.
  • Kayla Bloede, BS expected May 2020. Started wrangling in 2017. 
  • Jessica Werhand, BS expected December 2017. 

Past UWO Graduate Students

  • Erin Jenewein, MS June 2005. Sigma Xi grant awardee 2004, 2005 UW Oshkosh Distinguished Thesis Award. ATTENDED ARVO. Nova Southeastern School of Optometry class of 2009, then Assistant Professor and KID Clinic Chief there.  Joined faculty of Salus University Pennsylvania School of Optometry in 2015. 
  • Jason Tonne. ATTENDED ARVO. On the research staff at Mayo Clinic in the Laboratory of Gene & Cell Therapy for Diabetes and Hypertension. 
  • Jenny Nemke, MS 2001. ATTENDED ARVO. UW Milwaukee Staff member.


Past Undergraduate Students

  • Cassie Duncan, BS May 2017; head squirrel wrangler since 2014 and McNair Scholar in 2016.  Interested in reproductive endocrinology, behavior, genomics, animal health. 
  • Elainna Jentz, BS May 2017.  Started wrangling in 2016.  Interested in reproductive endocrinology, neurobiology, genomics. 
  • Adrienne Gruber, BS expected May 2017.   Interested in ocular pathology and our link to COPLOW in 2016. Admitted to Optometry school for Fall 2017!
  • Zabet Kempfert, BS expected May 2017; squirrel colony intern Spring-Summer 2015.  Now hard at work for the Michalski lab.
  • David Gansen, bioengineering major at Temple University. UWO summer scholar 2015.  Now a summer research associate at MCW's Eye Institute. 
  • Tristan Greening, McNair Fellow 2014-15.  WINNER of Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award April 2015.
  • Ryan Conklin, BS May 2014.  Undergrad Collab Research Grant recipient 2013-14.
  • Ryan Bures, BS 2013.  McNair Fellow 2011-12; CO-WINNER of Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award, April 2013.  In med school at UW Madison. 
  • Ben Sajdak, BS 2013.  McNair Fellow 2011-12:CO-WINNER of Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award, April 2013.  Head squirrel wrangler 2013. Starting 2014, PhD candidate at the new Advanced Ocular Imaging Program at the Medical College of Milwaukee.  
  • Cassie (Piper) Schandel, BS 2013.  CO-WINNER of Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award, April 2013. In med school at UW Madison.
  • David Henson, BS 2013 from Hanover College.  REU Fellow Summer 2012. Begins MD-PhD program at University of Kentucky Fall 2014.
  • Grant O'Connell, McNair Fellow 2011-12.  Completed MS program at West Virginia University in 2012-14 with 4 publications (3 first-authored) and now pursing the PhD there. 
  • Bobbi Kolstad, head squirrel wrangler 2012, later worked for the Wisconsin DNR, has traveled the world, including my old hometown of Santa Barbara.
  • Aaron Robinson, BS 2012. McNair Fellow 2010-11. Began MD program at UW Madison in Fall 2012.  Completed MPH at University of Minnesota.  
  • Adam Robinson, McNair Fellow 2011-12.  
  • Eric Exner, BS 2011.  Began MD/PhD program at Medical College of Milwaukee in Fall 2011.
  • Jose Orona, BS 2010. McNair Fellow, Chancellor's Award of Excellence.  
  • Vanessa Ante.  2008 McNair fellow from UWO, then earned her PhD at Tennessee (first UWO McNair fellow to earn the PhD!), now a postdoc at Pittsburgh.
  • Michelle Jooss, BS 2010.  Head squirrel wrangler 2009-10. Practicing veterinarian in Seattle, WA after graduating DVM program at UW-Madison May 2014. 
  • Minhoon Kim (voted MVP in the laboratory; brought us firmly into the era of molecular biology).  
  • Jon Gesicki (began DDS program at Detroit Mercy in August 2009; now a dentist)
  • Megan Jourdan, family practice physician with MD from the Medical College of Wisconsin.
  • Dembi Huya-Kouadio (2008 NSF-REU fellow from University of Maryland). Earned her MD from Meharry School of Medicine. 
  • Danielle Eisenschink (2007 NSF-REU fellow from Carroll College, graduated May 2008).
  • Theresa Rytz (2007 NSF-REU fellow from Florida Atlantic University)
  • Melissa Broger
  • Amanda Smith, BS May 2008.  Research Assistant, Yale University.
  • Angela Rodriguez, BS May 2007. (2006 NSF-REU fellow.) UW Academic Excellence Scholar, Chancellor's Award of Excellence. ATTENDED ARVO 05/06, ARVO travel grant '05. Illinois College of Optometry class of 2011.  Practicing optometrist in Appleton, WI.
  • JJ Sager, BS May 2006. Graduated from U of Pitt Neuroscience PhD program in Summer 2012 and heading to Spain for his postdoc.  JJ did the lab's very first molecular biology!
  • Aaron Gruber, BS May 2006. ATTENDED ARVO 05/06. Sigma Xi grant awardee 2005!  Nova Southeastern School of Optometry class of 2010.  Practicing optometrist in Chilton, WI.
  • Eric Zuniga (2005 NSF-REU fellow from College of Lake County and UW Parkside). DVM from Colorado State, now an Army veterinarian with the rank of Captain.
  • Julie Mullen, BS 2005 U Minn; Howard Hughes Medical Institute research intern Summer 2005. UW Oshkosh Accelerated Nursing program.
  • Amy Paulik, Northwestern University. Pre-medicine. Volunteer.
  • Amy Maltry, Iowa State University BS May 2005; summer volunteer for 2 years; MD from UW Madison; doing an Ophthalmology residency at the University of Iowa.
  • Lisa Burian, BS Dec 2003, Fotodyne Life Sciences.
  • N'gassa M'ssika, BS May 2004 (Med Tech). Med Tech.  Now an ER Physician Assistant in Green Bay, WI.
  • Don Ruwan Ranatunga, BS Dec 2004 (Bio). UWO Master's degree program.  Now Production Chain Manager at Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center in Madison, WI.
  • David Slotten, BS May 2003 (Bio). ATTENDED ARVO. Now Senior Project Manager at PPD, a biotech firm outside Madison, WI.  
  • Nathan Duncan, BS May 2003 (Bio). Teacher.
  • Amy Rider, BS May 2003 (Bio), MD from Medical College of Wisconsin, now doing OBGYN residency at St. Vincent's in Indianapolis.
  • Josh Koscher, BS '02 (Bio), MBA '07 UW Milwaukee, now a Senior Analyst at UW Health.  
  • Blake Buchan, BS '01 (Microbio), Univ. of Iowa PhD program in Microbiology, class of 2008. ATTENDED ARVO.   Now Assistant Professor of Pathology and Associate Director of Clinical Pathology at MCW.
Document Actions
by Ledwell, Brian A last modified May 30, 2017 07:09 PM