UW Oshkosh
Future Students adult non-traditional Parents and Family Current Students Faculty and Staff Visitors and Community

general information


The University of Wisconsin Oshkosh is located on 170.5 acres of land along the Fox River in the center of Oshkosh, Wisconsin. Oshkosh is a vibrant city with over 60,000 inhabitants and is located on the western shores of Lake Winnebago. Oshkosh is positioned in the middle of the Fox Valley, which is one of the fastest growing metropolitan areas in the state. Oshkosh was named after a Menominee Indian Chief and used to be a thriving trading post for the Great Lakes area.

The urban campus is surrounded by industrial, residential and commercial areas, and is trisected by two heavily traveled one-way streets. It has 28 major buildings and 10 minor structures comprising over 2.7 million gross square feet. The majority of the academic and residential campus is located on 115 acres on the east side of the river. An additional 36 acres of land on the west side of the Fox River houses the Titan Football Stadium and other athletic facilities. The balance of the land holdings are composed of miscellaneous properties located throughout the city.

The University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh has one of the older physical plants in the UW system. All but one of its academic buildings were constructed before 1970. The University’s oldest buildings date back to the 1920’s and have been adapted over the years to accommodate changing instructional needs.

The University has a total enrollment of 11,245 students, which makes it the third largest University in the state. You can dowload the student statistics for the University of Wisconsin System. You can also view the statistics regarding the number of employees on campus. There are eleven residence halls and one conference center. Approximately 3,411 students reside in these residence halls. Take a detailed look at residence hall occupancy.

The University of Wisconsin System is governed by the Board of Regents, a 17-member board, as established under Chapter 36 of the Wisconsin State Statutes. The Governor of Wisconsin appoints Board members to seven-year terms, except the students regent who is appointed to a two-year term. The Board appoints the President of the UW System, the chancellors of the 13 universities, the chancellor of Extension, the chancellor of UW Colleges and the deans of the 13 colleges. All appointees serve at the pleasure of the Board. The Board also sets admission standards, reviews and approves university budgets, and establishes the regulatory framework within which the individual units operate. The current Regent President is Toby Marcovich. View the names and affiliations of the Board of Regents.

Home Contacts Site Map
University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
Last update: October 10, 2003
  created by