Personal tools
You are here: Home > Opportunities > Student Awards

Student Awards

Joseph B. Laine Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies Award

Each spring, one graduating senior is selected for this award.

Joseph B. Laine, who passed away in 2013 at the age of 88, earned his Ph.D. at Northwestern University.  He joined the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh's Communication Department in 1962, serving as professor and chair for 26 years after previously serving as an instructor at the University of South Dakota and instructor and debate coach at Marquette University.  He retired from UW Oshkosh in 1989.

 Laine was a long-serving and dedicated faculty member in the UW Oshkosh Department of Communication.  As the number and variety of communication degrees grew under his tenure as "Speech Department" chair in the 1960s and 1970s, so did the services provided through special hearing clinics within the department -- clinics that annually served hundreds of Wisconsin residents, including referrals from physicians and UW-Madison and UW-Milwaukee, according to archival records.  He also served as a president of the Wisconsin Speech Communication Association.

 In his honor, the "Joseph B. Laine Outstanding Senior in Communication Studies Award" recognizes "Communication Studies majors with senior standing who have accrued an overall minimum GPA of 3.0" and who have achieved "academic excellence, involvement in extracurricular activities (with primary emphasis on communication-related activities) and demonstrated leadership."

 Laine himself was an active community volunteer, donating his time and talents to several charitable organizations in the Oshkosh area.



Year Awarded
1988-89 Gregory Books
1989-90 JoAnn Christensen
1990-91 Margaret Laskowski
1991-92 Nola Koshak
1992-93 Melissa Stein
1994-95 Lori Zivkovich
Michelle Kuhn
1995-96 Mark Habeck
Jessica Desch
1996-97 Bethany Brightman
1997-98 Dave Torbenson
Todd Simonis
1998-99 Andrea Swiney
Tanya Jesunas
2002-03 Carl Schapp
2003-04 Michelle K. Lippart
2004-05 Christopher Nadolny
Jennifer Caswell
2005-06 J.B. Windle
2006-07 Angela Hensel
Laura Stark
2007-08 Katelyn Reitz
Shervin Fathi
2008-09 Kira-Lynn Reeves
2009-10 Kathryn Gruber
2010-11 Chelsea Sievert
Natalee Kasmiskie
2011-12 Quincey Davidson
Bridget Isnardi
2012-13 Julie Gallagher
2013-14 Heather Smith
Jessica Borucki
2014-15 April Delfosse
Baylei Schmit
 2015-16 Joanna Wavrunek


Document Actions
by mccora16 last modified Mar 01, 2017 05:26 PM

"I really appreciated the student culture in the major. Everyone was very supportive of one another and willing to take the time to share experiences and ideas."


Natalee Kasmiskie '11
Promotions Assistant
Clear Channel Radio


Learn about successful communication studies students and alumni.