You are here: Home > News > Three COEHS professors honored at Opening Day assembly

Three COEHS professors honored at Opening Day assembly

Three UW Oshkosh College of Education and Human Services faculty members were recognized for their accomplishments and contributions to moving the institution’s mission forward at the annual Opening Day assembly Sept. 7 at Reeve Memorial Union.

The recipients are as follows:


Rosebush Professorship

The John McNaughton Rosebush Professorship recognizes UW Oshkosh faculty members for teaching, professional achievement and public service. Nominees are considered in a selection process by a panel representing all University governance groups.

Don HonesDonald Hones, professor, curriculum and instruction

Even before he came to UW Oshkosh in 1997, Don Hones was an advocate for students, especially those who traditionally have been excluded from higher education. He taught English as a second language in several states, Ecuador and Spain as well as political science for three years at universities in California and Minnesota. As a member of the College of Education and Human Services, Hones specializes in principles of bilingual/bicultural education; ESL methods; and Hmong language, culture and learning.

He has written and managed more than $4 million in federal grants for the preparation of ESL and bilingual teachers and professionals. Hones has authored two books and more than a dozen articles in his field and often involves his students as co-authors; co-researchers; and co-presenters at state, regional and national conferences. In 2007, he formalized ties with three universities and the Ministry of Education in Chile. He will spend spring 2011 on sabbatical in Mexico, studying the role of extended families and education of immigrant children on both sides of the border.

Hones earned a bachelor’s degree in political science at Hope College, a master’s degree in political science at Duke University and a doctorate in philosophy at Michigan State University.



Edward M. Penson Distinguished Teaching Award

Edward M. Penson Distinguished Teaching Award recipients are selected based on their teaching excellence, service, professional commitment and scholarly growth. A committee of faculty, students and staff determines who will receive the honor.

Stephen RoseStephen Rose, professor, education

A leader in service at UW Oshkosh and the Wisconsin Council for the Social Studies (WCSS), education professor Stephen Rose challenges his students to think critically to prepare them to be tomorrow’s leaders. A member of the curriculum and instruction department since 1990, Rose designs creative and effective teaching activities inside and outside of the classroom. He is a promoter of lifelong learning and encourages students to participate in the WCSS’s annual state conference. His research, which includes such topics as the efficacy of collaborative teaching and class discussion, has been published in journals and books, and he has presented at many conferences at the local and national level.

Rose earned a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in social studies education at The Ohio State University and a doctorate with emphases in social studies education, curriculum/theory and development, and sociology at The Ohio State University.



Edward M. Penson Faculty Award

The Edward M. Penson Faculty Award recognizes faculty members who have made a significant contribution that might otherwise go unrecognized. Applications are not accepted for this award; rather, the deans select the recipients based on performance.

Judith Hankes, curriculum and instruction

Document Actions