You are here: Home > Departments and Divisions > Educational Leadership > Scholarships


For a comprehensive listing of available scholarships, see the financial information page of the Graduate Studies website.


WEMTA Library Media Scholarships

The Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association (WEMTA) offers several scholarships for library media students, including the Lowell Wilson Scholarship, the Doctoral Studies Scholarship and the WEMTA Permanent Endowment Trust (PET). Contact WEMTA for more details. Applications are typically due in the fall.


Charlotte H. McEssy Scholarship

Established in 1992, the Charlotte H. McEssy Scholarship recognizes students pursuing an MS in Educational Leadership from UW Oshkosh. Recipients are full- or part-time graduate students, with a GPA of 3.0 and involvement in extracurricular or community activities.


  1. The recipients of this scholarship must be part- or full-time graduate students pursuing an MS Educational Leadership degree in the College of Education and Human Services at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

  2. Applicants for this scholarship must have attained a grade point average of 3.0 on a four-point scale.

  3. Evidence of involvement in extracurricular or community activities, as well as demonstration of financial need, will be taken into consideration but will not be the dominant criteria in the selection process.

Selection Process

  1. Applicants must submit two letters of recommendation from professors at UW Oshkosh.

  2. Applicants must submit a brief statement explaining why they feel qualified for this scholarship and what they foresee as their personal and professional goals.

  3. Applications for this scholarship are available at the N/E 605 or here (pdf).

  4. Final selection will be made by a department committee.

  5. Selection will be made early enough in the spring to allow inclusion of the recipient's name in the Honors and Awards Ceremony program.

 The Award 

  1. The award will be held at the Cashier's Office for payment against the fall semester's tuition.

  2. The value and/or number of scholarships will be determined annually by the committee with the UW Oshkosh Foundation and will be based upon income available for this purpose. Awards vary each year depending on how investments have done.

  3. The principal will be conserved perpetually.

 Please contact Mary Bartelt at or (920) 424-0339 for more details.


AAUW Scholarship

The American Association of University Women (AAUW) offers a one-year, $800 non-renewable scholarship to a woman enrolled full-time in one of the graduate programs at UW Oshkosh. Since its inception in 1966, students from all four of the University's colleges have been recognized.

The criteria and application form for the scholarship  can be found on the Graduate Studies website:

Other Scholarships

There are several other scholarships available to graduate students. Check them out on the Graduate Studies Scholarship website.

Most of these scholarships are awarded yearly so if the published deadline is for a previous year check it out anyway.


Collaborative Research Grants

 If you are interested in research, check out the Graduate Student-Faculty Collaborative Research Program available on campus. Applications are typically due in early February.


Support for Conference Travel

Have you been accepted to present your graduate work at a conference? If so, some financial support may be available through the Graduate Studies Office. Look on the Forms page under Travel Fund.

Document Actions
Contact Us

Educational Leadership

College of Education and Human Services 

800 Algoma Blvd.

Oshkosh, WI 54901

Marguerite W. Parks, Chair

Karen Gibson, Grad Coordinator

Mary Bartelt, ADA