You are here: Home > Information for: > Current Students > Scholarships > Charlotte McEssy Scholarship - Educational Leadership

Charlotte McEssy Scholarship - Educational Leadership

Scholarship applications are closed at this time. 


Established in 1992, the Charlotte H. McEssy Scholarship recognizes students pursuing an MS in Educational Leadership from UW Oshkosh. Recipients are full- or part-time graduate students, with a GPA of 3.0 and involvement in extracurricular or community activities.



  1. The recipients of this scholarship must be part- or full-time graduate students pursuing an MS Educational Leadership degree in the College of Education and Human Services at the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

  2. Applicants for this scholarship must have attained a grade point average of 3.0 on a four-point scale.

  3. Evidence of involvement in extracurricular or community activities, as well as demonstration of financial need, will be taken into consideration but will not be the dominant criteria in the selection process.

Selection Process

  1. Applicants must submit two letters of recommendation from professors at UW Oshkosh.

  2. Applicants must submit a brief statement explaining why they feel qualified for this scholarship and what they foresee as their personal and professional goals.

  3. Applications for this scholarship are available at the N/E 605 or here (pdf) and are due on February 21.

  4. Final selection will be made by a department committee. Mrs. Charlotte McEssy (or her representative) will serve on the committee and will participate in the selection process.

  5. Selection will be made early enough in the spring to allow inclusion of the recipient's name in the Honors and Awards Ceremony program.

 The Award 

  1. The award will be held at the Cashier's Office for payment against the fall semester's tuition.

  2. The value and/or number of scholarships will be determined annually by the committee with the UW Oshkosh Foundation and will be based upon income available for this purpose. Awards vary each year depending on how investments have done. Typically they are in the $150-250 range.

  3. The principal will be conserved perpetually.

Document Actions