You are here: Home > About the College > Points of Pride

Points of Pride

The College of Education and Human Services has good reason to be proud — a long history of developing leaders, an engaging academic environment and a strong tradition of service. Listed here are a few unique distinctions of the college.

The college offers the only online human services degree in the Midwest.

More than 235 College of Education and Human Services graduates have received the Herb Kohl Teacher Fellowship Award for excellence in teaching.  

The Department of Professional Counseling is one of only two in Wisconsin accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP).

COEHS Sign Language clubThe College’s Sign Language Club has served over 500 students and other participants in an introduction to basic American Sign Language.

The Department of Professional Counseling received the 2009 Innovative Counselor Education Program of the Year Award from the North Central Association for Counselor Education and Supervision.

The college is the only college in the UW System and one of only two institutions in the Wisconsin to achieve accreditation from the Council for Standards in Human Services Education, the only national accrediting body for human services degree programs.

10052009headstart0030.jpgThe college operates the largest and only university-affiliated Head Start program in the state, which has been a part of UW Oshkosh for over 40 years.

The college is among the first in the state to offer an Autism Spectrum Disorder certificate program.

The college has one of the largest and longest-running English as a Second Language (ESL) programs in the state.


College faculty have received numerous University awards, including:

    • More than twenty Edward M. Penson Distinguished Teaching awards, based on teaching excellence, service, professional commitment and scholarly growth.

    • Seven Edward M. Penson Faculty awards, which recognize UW Oshkosh faculty members who, based on performance, have made a significant contribution to the University which may otherwise have gone unrecognized.

    • Five John McNaugton Rosebush Professorship awards, which recognize UW Oshkosh faculty members for their teaching, professional achievement and public service.

    • Seven Endowed Professorships, which are awarded to faculty members who demonstrate outstanding research and engagement in community service. 

 Download the entire "Points of Pride" as a PDF.

Document Actions