Genealogy Resources
Area Research Centers
Records Management
Nat. History Day Resources


Area Research Center System - click here for the ARC map

The Area Research Center system allows the archival collections of the Wisconsin Historical Society to be distributed over the entire state, bringing local history and genealogical collections of regional interest to 14 different areas. The ARCs are located in the four year University of Wisconsin campuses, the Superior Public Library and the Northern Great Lakes Center in Ashland.

The collections held in the ARCs are cataloged in ArCat, the online catalog of the Wisconsin Historical Society. All of the manuscripts and local government record collections held at the Oshkosh ARC are cataloged in ArCat. In addtion to the collections kept here however, the researcher has access to collections held elsewhere in the ARC system. With some important exceptions (genealogical collections, for example, do not transfer), any collection found in ArCat can be sent to the Oshkosh ARC within days. The borrowed collection can be used for up to a month before being sent back to the lending institution. Contact the archivist for more information.

Here is an alphabetical list of the 13 other ARCs and the counties they serve. Each ARC, unless otherwise described, is located at a University of Wisconsin campus. Click here for the ARC map

Ashland ARC (Wisconsin Historical Society) - Ashland, Bayfield, Forest, Iron, Oneida, Price, Sawyer, Vilas, Washburn counties.

Eau Claire ARC - Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Eau Claire, Rusk, Taylor counties.

Green Bay ARC - Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano counties.

La Crosse ARC - Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Trempealeau, Vernon counties.

Madison ARC (Wisconsin Historical Society) - Columbia, Dane, Sauk counties.

Milwaukee ARC - Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington, Waukesha counties.

Parkside ARC - Kenosha, Racine counties.

Platteville ARC - Crawford, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette, Richland counties.

River Falls ARC - Burnett, Pierce, Polk, St. Croix counties.

Stevens Point ARC- Adams, Juneau, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Portage, Waupaca, Waushara, Wood counties.

Stout ARC - Barron, Dunn, Pepin counties

Superior ARC - Douglas county.

Whitewater ARC - Jefferson, Rock, Walworth counties.