You are here: Home > AAS Professors/Instructors

AAS Professors/Instructors

Courtney Bauder
bauderc@uwosh.edu
M.A., University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
Administrator: Global Educator Graduate Certificate Program
Research Interests: Multicultural Education, Global Education, and Disproportionality of Students of Color in Special Education
  • AAS 395-Special Topics A: Optional Content (ES), Fall 2011

 Liz Cannon
cannon@uwosh.edu
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin Madison
Director, LGBTQ Resource Center 2008-2010
Director, Social Justice Program, 2009-2010
  • AAS 100-Introduction to African American Studies (ES)(HU)

  •  English 219-African American Literature (HU) (ES)

  • English 319-African American Literature II: Optional Content (ES)

Lori Carrell 
carrell@uwosh.edu 
Ph.D., University of Denver
Director, Center of Scholarly Teaching
  • Communication 318-Intercultural Communication

James Chaudoir
chaudoir@uwosh.edu
Ph.D., University of Maryland
Director, Wisconsin Alliance for Composers, Inc
  • Music 219-Music and Culture (HU)

Norlisha Crawford
crawforn@uwosh.edu
Ph.D., University of Maryland-College Park
Director, African American Studies Minor Program
Assistant Professor, Department of English
Research Interests: Detective Fiction, African American Literature
  • AAS 100-Introduction to African American Studies (ES)(HU), Spring 2011

  • English 229-Honors: African American Literature (HU)(ES), Spring 2011

  • English 219-African American Literature (HU) (ES), Fall 2011

  • English 319-African American Literature II:Optional Content (ES)

  • English 331-Contemporary Literature: Optional Content (ES)

  • English 371-African American Women Writers: Evolution of a Literary Tradition (ES), Fall 2011

Cara Davis
davisc@uwosh.edu
M.M., B.A.-Music, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee
She has extensive experience in conducting ensembles and choirs throughout Wisconsin for the last fifteen years at both the high school and collegiate level.
  • Music 215-African American Popular Music: Rock and Roll (ES)

Don Dingledine
dingledi@uwosh.edu
Ph.D., Temple University
Research Interests: American Literature and Culture
  • English 219-African American Literature (ES)(HU), Spring 2011, Fall 2011

  • English 229-Honors: African American Literature (HU)(ES)

  • English 396-Literature and History: American Reconstruction, Spring 2011  (If you are interested and are an AAS minor but have not taken English 281, Prof.  Dingledine will be happy to waive this prerequisite.)

Jennifer Donath
donathj@uwosh.edu
M. A., Marquette University
Research Interests: Composition, Modern American Literature, the Harlem Renaissance
  • English 219-African American Literature (ES)(HU)

 Angela Gray
graya@uwosh.edu
M.A., University of Kansas - Lawrence
Research interests: Africa, Forced Displacement, Development, Political Geography
    • Geography 353-Sub-Saharan Africa (NW) (SS), Spring 2011

    • Geography 354-Middle East and North Africa (SS), Fall 2011

    Carmen Heider
    heider@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., Penn State University
    Research Interests: Rhetoric, Women's Studies
    • AAS 100-Introduction to African American Studies (HU)(ES)

    • Communication 316-Gender and Discourse (HU), Fall 2011

    • Communication 436-Seminar in Speech Communication

    James Krueger
    kruegerj@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., University of Iowa
    Research Interests: American politics, same sex marriage, civil unions, undocumented immigrants, Latino military service
    • Political Science 304-Race & Ethnicity in U.S. Politics (ES)(SS)

    Michelle Kuhl
    kuhlm@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., Binghamton University
    Reseach Interests: Currently writing a book on the anti-lynching movement titled Manly Martyrs:  African Americans and the Anti-Lynching Battle
    • AAS 100-Introduction to African American Studies (HU)(ES), Fall 2011

    • History 385-African American History (ES)(SS)

    • History 386-Women in the United States (SS)

    Jordan Landry 
    landry@uwosh.edu 
    Ph.D., University of Colorado
    Assistant Dean, College of Letters and Sciences
    • Interdisciplinary Studies 350-Ethnic Women Activists and the Environment

    Michael Lenza
    lenzam@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., University of Missouri - Columbia
    Research Interests: Death penalty, research methods and ethics, medical marijuana, theory, convict criminology, corrections, criminology, and institutional violence.
    • Criminal Justice 375-Violence in America (Special Topic)

    Roberta Maguire
    maguire@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., University of Maryland-College Park
    Research interests: African American Literature, Southern Literature, Theory and Criticism
    Director, University Honors Program
    • English 229-Honors: African American Literature (HU)(ES)

    • English 319-African American Literature II: Optional Content (ES)

    Robert McWilliams
    mcwilrob@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., University of Minnesota
    Director of Bands, Music Department
    • Music 216-Evolution of Jazz (HU)

    Caryn Murphy
    murphyc@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison
    Research Interests: Media representations of gender, generational politics, and contemporary feminism.
    • Communication 347-Race,Class,Gender in the Mass Media (ES)(HU), Spring 2011, Fall 2011

    Francis Ngaboh-Smart
    ngaboh@uwosh.edu
    Ph.D., University of Georgia
    Research interests: Postcolonial and African Literature
    • English 358-Post Colonial Literature: Optional Content

    Mijeong Park
    lopezpam@uwosh.edu
     Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo
    • English 218-Introduction to Multiethnic Literature (HU)(ES), Spring 2011, Fall 2011

    • English 394-Multiethnic Literature: Optional Content

    Troy Perkins 
    perkins@uwosh.edu
      M.F.A., Film Production, Tisch School of the Arts at New York University
      Coordinator, Radio/TV/Film Department
      • AAS 396-Special Topics B (OC): Documenting Social and Environmental Injustice/Film, Spring 2011

    Susan Rensing
    rensings@uwosh.edu
      Ph.D.,  University of Minnesota
      Research Interests: Women's History, Science in American Culture, 20th Century U.S., Progressive Era Reform
      • History 385-African American History (ES)(SS), Spring 2011

      • History 386-Women in the United States (SS), Fall 2011

    Susan Ridgely
    ridgelys@uwosh.edu
      Ph.D.,  University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
      • Religious Studies 285-African American Religious Experience (ES), Spring 2011

    Marty Robinson
    robinsm@uwosh.edu
      M.M. in Jazz Studies, Eastman School of Music; D.M. in Composition, Florida State University
      • Music 216 – Evolution of Jazz (HU), Spring 2011, Fall 2011

    Michael Rutz 
    rutz@uwosh.edu
      Ph.D., Washington University - St. Louis
      Research Interests: 19th and 20th Century Great Britain and Empire: religion and politics, History of Christian Missions, Cross-Cultural exchange in the British Empire
      • History 360-South Africa: 1652 - Present (NW)

    Shelly Rutz
    rutzm@uwosh.edu
      M.S.W., George Warren Brown School of Social Work, Washington University in St. Louis; B.S., Social Work, Gordon College
      SAMHSA grant project director
      Counseling Center Outreach Coordinator
      CARE/MenCARE advisor
      • Interdisciplinary Studies 399-Letters and Sciences Career Internship

      • Independent Studies 466

    Juyeon Son
    sonj@uwosh.edu
      Ph.D. University of Oregon
      • Sociology 395-Minority Groups (ES)(SS), Spring 2011, Fall 2011

    Jerry Stark
    starkj@uwosh.edu
      Ph.D. Purdue University
      Research Interests: Methodology, Theory, and Inequality.
      • Sociology 395-Minority Groups (ES)(SS), Spring 2011, Fall 2011

    Kristin Vielbig
    vielbigk@uwosh.edu
      M.A. South Dakota State University
      Research interests: Composition
      • English 218-Introduction to Multiethnic Literature (HU)(ES)

      • English219-African American Literature (HU)(ES)

    Min Wu
    wum@uwosh.edu
      Ph.D., Duke University
      Research interests: Composition, Multiethnic Literature
      • English 218-Introduction to Multiethnic Literature (ES)(HU), Spring 2011

      • English 219-African American Literature (HU)(ES)

    Document Actions
    by parek77 last modified Apr 07, 2011 01:01 PM
    AAS

    AAS Logo

     Student Ching Ly designed the official African American Studies program logo. Ly's prize-winning logo was unveiled at the Second Annual African American Studies Spring Lecture on April 19, 2007.