Senate of Academic Staff

Welcome to the Senate of Academic Staff

Who We Are

Academic staff at UW Oshkosh work as instructors, lecturers, department directors, academic advisors, counselors, program managers, writers and editors, student counselors, and student program coordinators and many others. They are employed in all four colleges of the university and in administrative areas including Administrative Services, Admissions, Continuing Education/Extension, Counseling Center, Dean of Students, Foundation/Development, Registration, Residence Life, University Relations and elsewhere.

 

Our current Senate:

These individuals represent you in conversations, meetings, sessions, and decisions affecting our work environment.  Feel free to contact them as needed to share your ideas, suggestions. or concerns.

 

Executive Committee (and Senators)

Greg Wypiszynski, wypiszyn@uwosh.edu, Graduate Studies, x0007  (President)

Jamie Ceman, cemanj@uwosh.edu, Integrated Marketing and Communications, x0821  (President-Elect)

Lisa Szromba, szrombal@uwosh.edu, Undegraduate Advising and Resource Center, x3341  (Vice President)

Deborah Matulle, matulle@uwosh.edu, Administrative Services, x3318 (Secretary)

Crystal Buss, buss@uwosh.edu, Polk Library, x7315 (Member-at-Large)

Victor Alatorre, alatov95@uwosh.edu, MIO, x3212 (Representative to UWS Academic Staff Reps Council)

 

Senators

Courtney Bauder, bauderc@uwosh.edu, Interdisciplinary Studies, x0928 (Senator)

Craig Biwer, biwerc@uwosh.edu, Kinesiology, x3070 (Senator)

David Gilboa, gilboa@uwosh.edu, Philosophy, x1293 (Senator)

Bunny Hansen, hansenb@uwosh.edu, Lifelong Learning and Community Engagement, x1139 (Senator)

MaryBeth Petesch, petesch@uwosh.edu, COEHS, x3323 (Senator)

Jeff Pickron, pickronj@uwosh.edu, History, x1409 (Senator)                                                                 

Sarah Smith, smiths@uwosh.edu, Lifelong Learning and Community Engagement, x1363 (Senator)

Michael Watkins, watkins@uwosh.edu, Polk Library, x7305 (Senator)                                                  

Julie Zuleger, zuelgerj@uwosh.edu, Kinesiology, x3197 (Senator)

               

2013-2014 Senate Meetings, Dempsey 212 - 3 pm

Sept  12 & 26
October 10 & 24
NOTE: November 7  rescheduled to NOV 21st
December 5
January 16
February 13 & 27
March 13
April 10 & 24
May 8

 

What We Do

The Senate of Academic Staff shall 

(1) supervise and conduct the election of members to this Senate; 

(2) elect its own officers; 

(3) schedule and conduct its own meetings; 

(4) form and revise its own bylaws and rules of proceedings; 

(5) advise the Chancellor on matters pertaining to the UW System Unclassified Personnel Guidelines No. 7 which deals with designating positions as "academic staff;" 

(6) advise the Chancellor on policies and procedures for the academic staff adopted pursuant to UW System 9-14, and prepare and propose for the Chancellor's approval needed changes in the policies and procedures; 

(7) serve as a hearing body (see GOV 4.3.B); and 

(8) perform such other tasks as it deems appropriate to its status as an active participant in the immediate governance of, and policy development for, the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, subject to the responsibilities and powers of the Chancellor, the faculty and the students.

  

CONTACT US:
Office Support ~ April Dutscheck
dutschecka@uwosh.edu
sas@uwosh.edu

Senate Office
Dempsey 205
920-424-2102


The Senate Distribution list:
sas@lists.uwosh.edu

Document Actions
by Dutscheck, April A last modified Feb 28, 2014 04:46 PM